WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Deadpool Movie Almost Happened Five Years Ago

Posted: December 14th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Deadpool Movie Almost Happened Five Years AgoSubmit Comment
Many fans have been wondering if 20th Century Fox will focus on a Deadpool movie after "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" hits theaters. Now, Fox executive Jeff Katz reveals to MTV News that he has been trying to put a Deadpool movie together for the last five years.

According to Katz, Deadpool's journey to the big screen (and Ryan Reynolds' connection to the character), began around the time when plans were being hashed out for "Blade: Trinity," the third installment of the film franchise based on Marvel Comics' vampire hunter. The film was written and directed by David Goyer, and at the time, Katz was serving in a similar capacity for New Line Cinema and "Blade" as he later served for Fox on "Wolverine."

"All the way back to Ryan, Goyer and I on 'Blade: Trinity,' we were trying to put together a deal at New Line for a 'Deadpool' movie," said Katz. "We thought the rights were clear and not part of the 'X-Men' universe, so Ryan could play the character and Goyer could write. I can't remember why I think they wanted to do a 'Blade' spin-off instead but it didn't come together. But Ryan, to his credit, has remained obsessed with the character."

The Deadpool movie obviously never happened, but Katz is just happy to get Reynolds into the role in the "X-Men Origins: Wolverine." "[Ryan Reynolds] is, I think, the only guy who can play that character. He is that character," said Katz. "I have to say it's one of the proudest things I've done in my career and took me five extra years to do it, but to finally get him into that role and get it done is something I'm very proud of."

Would you rather get a Deadpool or Gambit spin-off movie?

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on December 13th, 2008 at 9:36:13 PM

i rather see a Deadpool spin off
CornLord writes:
on December 13th, 2008 at 11:07:47 PM

To be honest, I don't know much about Deadpool and the only thing I know about Gambit is what I learned from the X-Men cartoon show. Either way, I think it should be like the Magneto movie and wait to see how Wolverine does.
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 1:10:45 AM

come on the merc with the mouth or the cajun.......I'll take Deadpool gladly with no complaints
MrSammich writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 5:07:42 AM

Both
Pepeman writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 6:04:12 AM

Is Deadpool the one who know's that he is in a comic?
thedotsays writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 9:23:21 AM

Neither have the mainstream following that a Hulk, Iron Man, or a Wolverine does so either way a movie feauturing one would not get the finnancial backing from the studio along the same lines as those. And that would put it in the mediocre direct to DVD bin that The Punisher 2 should have gone. Although a Reynolds lead Deadpool movie would be great to see, I think Gambit has a deeper story to tell.
Blade12322 writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 11:57:50 AM

Gambit is better than Wolverine and id love to see a movie about him, but a Deadpool movie would be great too, though hes not AS famous
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 12:42:32 PM

Id rather see s spinoff on anyone but Wolverine. And Id rather see a spinoff on Gambit over anyone.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 1:19:06 PM

IRON MAN was never a mainstream character either. It's all about the quality of the film. If a Deadpool or Gambit movie is as well done as Iron Man, they too could be huge hits. (Though if Fox does them, there's a much slimmer chance - let Marvel do it!)
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 1:27:15 PM

DO BOTH! IT'D BE AMAZING! Ryan Reynolds is perfect for it and the guy they cast for Gambit looks great also. Throw it all in there and lets stir it up!
UraharaShop writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 2:31:23 PM

Deadpool is so much cooler than Gambit. Why's Gambit such a fan favorite? I dunno, I just don't find him that interesting. Bring on a Deadpool movie though. Seriously, as fast as you can.
manichispanic writes:
on December 14th, 2008 at 10:01:54 PM

a buddy cop film!
onthejon writes:
on December 15th, 2008 at 6:08:00 AM

Deadpool: What are you thinking? Gambit: Pub...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved