WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Nightmare on Elm Street" Remake Gets Greenlit

Posted: December 12th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Nightmare on Elm Street" Remake Gets GreenlitSubmit Comment
STYD had a chance to chat with producers Brad Fuller and Andrew Form about the rumored "Nightmare on Elm Street" remake, which apparently has already been greenlit.

"It's our next movie," Form said about bringing the Freddy Kruger character back to the big screen. "Hopefully shooting this spring."

Fuller revealed the plans for the new installment in the franchise. "It's like what we're doing to 'Friday the 13th,'" he explained. "It's not Freddy cracking jokes. We want to make a horrifying movie. The concept is so scary, don't fall asleep or you'll die. This guy gets you when you're most vulnerable, in your sleep. We love that. That's the basis of the movie. It'll be most similar to the first one but in terms of kills and dreams we'll borrow from the entire series."

Shooting is expected to take place in the Chicago suburbs, but without Robert Englund in the lead. Although Fuller is planning to have a cameo for him.

Who should be cast as Freddy Kruger?

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
thomas deadison writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 2:10:04 AM

"The concept is so scary, don't fall asleep or you'll die. This guy gets you when you're most vulnerable, in your sleep. We love that. That's the basis of the movie. " What an original bastard. Who would have ever thought that 25 years after this concept was conceived, that some *sshole would be saying this about his upcoming project?
freshfromthedeli writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 7:39:01 AM

I'm a fan of the series, but I have no idea who could fill Englund's shoes. Despite rumors, I seriously doubt it will be Billy Bob Thorton though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 8:32:49 AM

I hear the word Remake....that's fine I guess...but when I hear the word BORROW I slump into a big heap of doubt. Get some imaginations ya f*cktards. You can't make a remake about the original recycling scenes we've already seen before. I mean at the very least you could offer up some new, imaginative kills. I got the box set to watch the same things over and over- I dont need a remake to do that for me.
makingcircles writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 10:16:28 AM

I'm excited for this movie to be made. I'm a huge Nightmare fan. They have the potential to do it really good because their are a lot of creepy parts of the storyline to borrow from (ie. 1000 maniacs in the mental ward raping his mother...child killer...etc) They could potentially make it really good....or of course, they could f@#*! it all up. Here's hoping.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 10:35:05 AM

If theyve done so well with the new Friday the 13th then this should be good also. As for casting, who knows? I cant even think of who could be well enough to fill what Robert Englund has brought to the table. Billy Bob Thorton is a damn good actor but I dont know if this would be his cup of tea.
yoasche writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 12:00:46 PM

This will be good i believe and will be the sh*t if done right. but freddy should be done by some no name who can get the voice, feel and mannerisms of krueger.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 12:01:39 PM

Billy Bob just finished off a comedy crap boxset- the least he can do is add a horror one too. haha I think people think Billy Bob takes himself way too seriously- the man likes being in blockbusters...this IS his cup of tea because it would make him the star of such a vehicle and not a supporting role which he usually gets in films like that.
makingcircles writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 12:26:30 PM

It just seems that if they put some big name in the role (Billy Bob Thorton) That it would take away most of the suspense. Wes Craven's original vision was to have Freddy in the shadows and very dark all the time. He actually based him on a mysterious, scary man that he saw outside his window when he was a kid. So I think they should pull from the B-list, if not C-List, of actors...no Billy Bob please. "Mmmm...some call em' Razor fingers...I call em' Kaiser fingers"
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 1:45:00 PM

You also have to realize they have money now- and a budget to actually show the man's backstory in gritty detail. I don't see a big name hurting it. It all depends on what approach they take- smart ass Freddy or no f*ckin around Freddy. If they cast Billy Bob that in no way says he'll have to chew up the scenery. His best roles are playing subdued personalities. And let's face it- if you wear a vile of someone's blood around your neck...you can be creepy as f*ck.
projektzborn writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 1:53:07 PM

well billy has the overall right look to appear as robert. But if they dont have the comedy that made freddy freddy he will just end up like every other slasher. Im looking forward to the new look robert looked sooooo BA in freddy vs jason!!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 2:00:35 PM

There will never be a good Elm Street movie without Englund. And there will never be a good Freddy if he isn't cracking jokes and calling girls 'Bitch.'
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 2:35:58 PM

I think Fredddy was only Freddy in the original and New Nightmare...there's way too many smartass horror villains. The sequels killed the fear and veered into camp. Freddy wasn't envisioned as a smartass comedian- a greedy franchise wilted the character that way. Get rid of the camp.
Blank x2 writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 2:54:21 PM

Nobody. These people need to learn that there are certain characters that can only be played by one actor. The thought of someone else playing Freddy Krueger besides Robert Englund makes me sick. Jason can be played by whoever, but there is only ONE Freddy. And no Freddy cracking jokes? Have these f*cking people ever watched a Nightmare on Elm St. movie? This film will be TERRIBLE.
makingcircles writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 3:36:08 PM

I agree with Prevalentmind...more scare...less camp. Save the camp for Crystal Lake (rimshot)....or this post.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 3:47:55 PM

Blank x2- no offense but check the fanboy coat at the door. it was ROBERT ENGLUND HIMSELF who is most excited to see someone take the role. He, in fact, was the man who mentioned Billy Bob Thorton. If you're going to be a purist- realize that the sequels were not PURE Elms Street. Why the hell would we stick to the conventions of the critically panned sequels with one or two stars over the original 4 star formula that earned the label "masterpiece of horror"?
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 12th, 2008 at 3:48:08 PM

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on December 13th, 2008 at 5:54:53 PM

I hate to recommend such a great actor, but what about Viggo Mortensen for the role of Freddy, and a different kind of Freddy than the one we're all used to seeing by now. Mortensen's small role as Lucifer in 'The Prophecy' with Christopher Walken is evidence alone that he could do a great take on this 80's slasher icon.
zeroheat writes:
on December 13th, 2008 at 6:56:26 PM

Robert knepper for freddy.
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on December 13th, 2008 at 8:20:19 PM

I can actually agree with zeroheat on this one.
seveltoto writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 9:44:31 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved