WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofsky Gets Revenge on Artie Lange?

Posted: December 10th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren Aronofsky Gets Revenge on Artie Lange?Submit Comment
Comedian Artie Lange revealed on the Howard Stern Show that he previously auditioned for Darren Aronofsky's "The Wrestler," but ultimately lost the role to someone else. And the reason why he didn't get the part could be a big conspiracy. [via /Film]

"I really took it seriously," explained Lange. "I had what I thought was a great audition. It was for the fifth lead of the movie, a sleazy wrestling promoter in that world... he had all his scenes with Mickey Rourke. So I went back another time, killed again. I then did a screen test. Killed again. So my Agent says to me 'Aronofsky really likes you, and its between you and another guy.' So it goes right til the end, and my manager calls me back and tells me 'the other guy got it.' I was like 'Aw F*ck!' It was really like god fucking with me. I wanted it now."

According to one of Lange's friends, the reason why Aronofsky decided to go with the other guy, is because of an earlier altercation between Lange and himself.

"My friend says 'doesn't Artie remember Darren Aronofsky?' I was like 'What are you talking about?,'" recalls Lange. "When I was at Mad TV back in 1996 we went out to a Hollywood party, the kid tells the story: Artie got completely fucked up... this is one of those times when we had to pull him out of the party. This kid went to film school with Darren Aronofsky. He said in this party you claimed this guy Aronofsky, this is before 'Requiem for a Dream,' you claimed that he was looking at you wrong and you kept hitting him in the head and you punched him in the face. I said 'What?' He goes 'You were abusing this guy, calling him a film school fag.'"

Lange's friend thinks that Aronofsky remembers the incident and purposely lead him to believe that he was going to get the role, just to take it away from him at the last second. Lange doesn't believe that, saying that Aronofsky "was so nice to me in the auditions." Howard Stern also commented on the absurdity of the suggestion, saying that Aronofsky would have to be a criminal mastermind to come up with that plot.

Do you think Aronofksy is vengeful enough to do this?

Click here to read more about "The Wrestler."

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:33:46 PM

Sounds brilliant and something I would have done... Sorry Artie, should mess with an artist.
adamboy writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:44:19 PM

looks like the "film school fag" calls the shots now biotch! go aronofsky
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:51:35 PM

The guy's funny, but I really can't picture him in an Aronofsky picture. Aronofsky's movies kinda lean a little toward the art house crowd, whereas Artie Lange's work is geared toward the frat house crowd. Can't imagine what those two styles would be like integrated.
Pepeman writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 8:47:28 PM

So the role went to that dude from the "30 Rock" ? You know, the one with the hats...
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 11th, 2008 at 9:36:13 AM

Artie Lange is s sloppy drunk one trick pony...at best. Goodbye film career, hello Cirrhosis of the liver!
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 11th, 2008 at 10:24:47 AM

The only role he's made for is Pauly in the Rocky remake- since that movie will never be made: haha.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved