WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Has Gone Insane

Posted: December 10th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Has Gone InsaneSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has just announced that they will make history by transmitting the first motion picture in to deep space, making "The Day the Earth Stood Still" the world's first galactic motion picture release. The first deliberate deep space transmission of this sci-fi thriller will begin this Friday, December 12th, 2008, to coincide with the film's opening day on Planet Earth. If any civilizations are currently orbiting Alpha Centauri, they will be able to receive and view the film approximately four years from now in the year 2012.

In a time when global movie launches are now commonplace, Fox is raising the bar by spearheading, with Deep Space Communications Network located at Cape Canaveral, the ultimate in "wide release" platforms. As millions of Earthbound movie fans get their first look at "The Day the Earth Stood Still," the film will be zipping through space at 186,000 miles per second to a heretofore untapped possible consumer base orbiting the three star system, Alpha Centauri.

Commented 20th Century Fox domestic distribution president Bruce Snyder: "We at Fox always like to think big, and what's bigger than a 'galactic' release of a major motion picture event? We look forward to sharing 'The Day the Earth Stood Still' with our galactic neighbors near Alpha Centauri -- and look forward to their feedback...eight years from now."

Industry watchers and film historians will note that due to the distance between our solar system and the Alpha Centauri system, it will take over eight years (accounting for a roundtrip communication) to receive any Alpha Centauri reviews. The transmission is not a single beam aimed at just the Alpha Centauri system, but can be received by any advanced technologically capable civilization along the way to Alpha Centauri, and beyond.

Prior to its arrival at Alpha Centauri, the transmission of "The Day the Earth Stood Still" can be intercepted and viewed at various points in our own solar system (Distance from Earth at the speed of light and transmission time, as follows):

Moon: 0.000000038, 1.1991888 seconds
Sun: 0.000016, 8.41536 minutes
Mercury: 0.0000095, 4.99662 minutes
Venus: 0.00000476, 2.5035696 minutes
Mars: 0.0000076, 3.997296 minutes
Jupiter: 0.0000666, 35.028936 minutes
Saturn: 0.000135, 1.18341 hours
Uranus: 0.000285, 2.49831 hours
Neptune: 0.00046, 4.03236 hours
Pluto: 0.0006183, 5.4200178 hours

Do you see the purpose of this?

Click here to read more about "The Day the Earth Stood Still."

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
polardeficit writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 2:07:26 AM

O M G i have absolutely no words
thomas deadison writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 2:19:44 AM

Are they looking for intergalactic funding to make up for this year's losses? Are they that desperate to make headlines? Some superior race is going to get the transmission and destroy Earth for the time they wasted watching the movie. Thanks Fox.
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 2:31:48 AM

If the planet ever does get attacked by a race of superior, advanced alien life forms, it'll be because Fox struck first and assaulted them with this monstrous, atomic sh*tbomb of a movie.
c-prime writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 2:37:13 AM

Fox's next move: engineer a series of constellatory stars in the exact image of Keanu Reeves face, complete with a speech balloon reading "Whoa!"
steamluv writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:16:13 AM

ha, it would be kinda funny if in 8 years we get something back asking why we didnt say anything sooner.
WV-Films writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:27:11 AM

I actually have an ethical problem with this. Should the first movie we send into space be about our own planet being destroyed? Not only is this misleading to any alien neighbors who may think our planet no longer exists, but this could raise questions into the nature of Earth's cultural and sociological behaviors, and suggest that we are of a destructive disposition. Or what if they think this movie is a warning of things to come? Fox might as well send them Independence Day too. Can't we send them a nice bedroom drama instead? Maybe they'd like to see The House Of Sand and Fog.
GambleBDJ writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 3:40:20 AM

And the point of all this is why?? Aliens are gunna think were a retarted race.. we should send them The Dark Knight first!.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 4:19:08 AM

Don't send them The Dark Knight. They'll think humans have no sense of humor.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 4:23:46 AM

So stupid. Chance there is a radio-based civilization around Alpha Centauri: zero. Chance that Fox will waste millions on a stunt to promote The day The Earth Stood Still: 100%.
minkowski writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 4:27:26 AM

I don't believe the earth is destroyed in either film. So why would aliens, the nonexistent kind that don;t inhabit a star around Alpha Centauri, think Earth no longer exists? And don't you agree the gravy train of FOX trailers will undermine any thought that the recieved film is non-fiction? There are no damned aliens areound AC. If the system had ANY radio-based or more advanced life, we would have noticed.
WV-Films writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 5:22:37 AM

Hey I dunno what they think is fiction and not. Im just raising a hypothetical question. It just seems (PR stunt or not) irresponsible to send a message to aliens about the end of the world.
Jewmaican writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 5:24:01 AM

Let's see here, a movie about the human race being eradicated is going to be broadcast into space in 2012? FOX really is gonna bring about the apocalypse. We need to boycott this.
Jack the reaper writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 6:22:29 AM

Are they insane?
Jack the reaper writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 6:24:20 AM

Are they insane? Yez they are
JakeVermont writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 6:34:21 AM

Lets hope they ll send us back a movie of theirs :D hopefully no porn ;) As far as i know there are no Exoplanets capeable to inherit life forms in a radius of 50 lightyears or more but who knows..........
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 8:40:27 AM

Hmmm...Aliens pick up the signal and decide to kill us to ensure our entertainment value doesn't spread throughout the galaxy....OR we'll be stereotyped by aliens who think humans all look like Keanu Reeves.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 8:43:56 AM

I think this is what God meant when he said not to admire or project "False Idols"- just to be safe I would put Jesus on the THX logo before the movie starts-a movie without tits...How are we not going to transmit the best thing humanity has to offer?
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 9:25:42 AM

FOX is the officially trying to take MTV for the title of "Devil's Network."
Pembrokehawk writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 9:41:39 AM

Sweet. Now real aliens will know our weaknesses and come and destroy us. You have condemned us Fox. Damn you FOX, DAMN YOU!!!!! HA
makingcircles writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 10:06:09 AM

I agree with WV-Films on this one. However, I think they should have first sent a bunch of WWE broadcasts into space...that would have really confused those aliens.
thomas deadison writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 10:10:04 AM

Shouldn't we have a say in this, though? I mean, as citizens of Earth? Why does Fox think they can represent the world?
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 11:55:01 AM

Another desperate act from a desperate production company. Sad. Very sad.
kevo10183 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 11:56:40 AM

well they are sending it on the 12th. Four years from now will be the end of the Mayan calender (Dec. 12th 2012) Fox is going to destroy us. HA
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 12:33:00 PM

Show them "Rosie O'Donnel Live" and they'll surely grant us peace for the rest of eternity.
tib20011 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 5:47:17 PM

And we say the economic is bad...Fox has the solution: wasting money in retard ideas ! Now, aliens can see sh*tt movies than we pay for on Earth.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 6:04:10 PM

im the only one that thinks this is f*ckING awesome!
mattcl23 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 6:36:15 PM

wow, maybe someone besides people on earth will actually enjoy some of the films. and totally agree with deadison!
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 8:02:54 PM

I seem to remember hearing that the closest solar system that could have evolved life in the way that we think is something like 120+ light years away. I'm fairly certain that it's farther than four...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 9:19:47 PM

this is the craziest sh*t I've ever heard, but very interesting. It'll be cool to one day look up at the sky and watch a movie like the blackness of night is the screen.
polardeficit writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 9:59:01 PM

JESUS TITTY f*ckING CHRIST
minkowski writes:
on December 11th, 2008 at 6:04:24 AM

LOL. You have to understand that earth started transmitting a spherical wavefront of TV transmissions YEARS AGO. Recall the film Contact? Hitler's Olympic appearance in 1936 was the first supposed transmission with enough broadcast power to beam into deep space. I'm sure people the 'aliens' around AC have seen plenty to hate us. This film is a silly PR stunt. Zero emissary aspect in this at all. Fox isn't representing the world. Any race capable of traveling into space can understand that a film is just a film. A film has credits. If we can today understand Mayan morality tales, within the limits of decoding their glyphs, aliens can likely differentiate between fictional and nonfictional broadcasts. If they can handle Hitler they can handle the evil of a bad FOX film. Besides, maybe they have a thing for Rupert Murdoch.
dleyton writes:
on December 11th, 2008 at 9:50:09 AM

Let's see if Aliens get English first...
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 11th, 2008 at 3:44:40 PM

THIS IS A HORRIBLE IDEA... REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENED WHEN WAR OF THE WORLD WAS READ ON TEH RADIO, NO ONE KNEW WHAT WAS GOING ON... JUST LIKE THIS, ALIENS MAY TAKE THE MESSAGE WRONG AND MAY THINK IT AS A DECLARATION OF WAR.... YOU GOTTA THINK BEFORE YOU ACT!! STOP FOX! STOP FOX! STOP FOX! STOP FOX! STOP FOX!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved