WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Keanu Reeves to Play a Samurai Swordman

Posted: December 9th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Keanu Reeves to Play a Samurai SwordmanSubmit Comment
Keanu Reeves will star in "47 Ronin," an epic period film for Universal Pictures based on the true tale of a band of samurai swordsmen who avenged the death of their master in 18th century Japan.

Chris Morgan, who co-wrote "Wanted" and penned the upcoming "Fast and Furious" for Universal, is writing the script.

In "47 Ronin," Reeves will play one of the swordsmen; the group and their master are revered in Japan for their revenge attack on December 14th, 1702.

The film will tell a stylized version of the story, mixing fantasy elements of the sort seen in "The Lord of the Rings" pics, with gritty battle scenes akin to those in films such as "Gladiator."

Morgan is writing the script and tailoring it so that Reeves -- who's half-Asian -- can fit the role as one of the swordsmen. The intention is to begin shooting next year after a director is hired.

Is Keanu Reeves the perfect choice to play a samurai swordman?

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
steamluv writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 4:35:56 AM

Ha! Well if he doesnt talk alot and just stares at you yeah
c-prime writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 7:17:09 AM

That makes me laugh so hard I'm just gonna insert the product of HA HA HA x 250.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 8:30:54 AM

WHOA...yeah give him some buck teeth and a bowl cut and BAM- ya got yourself an Asian diplomat to the American film industry.
WP1101 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 8:56:20 AM

wow.... for someone who uses the name "PrevalentMind" you seem to have a very closed mind... do Asians intimidate you when they don't fit your stereotype?
onthejon writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:04:34 AM

Its called SARCASM WP1101...say it with me....SARCASM. Do you have nothing better to do but to instigate on movie rumor sites?
makingcircles writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:47:13 AM

Better than Tom Cruise I guess. They should have all the dialog be Japanese and the subtitle it in English. . That would make this film seem appealing to me. I don't think the guy who wrote Fast and Furious knows Japanese though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:49:33 AM

"On the Jon" is on the ball (damn I wish I scored that name first haha)...but yes Asians intimidate me. Anything that's below my eye level can easily sneak attack me in the dark.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 10:34:33 AM

Wow, how funny is this? Really funny.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 10:47:53 AM

This just in! Rose McGowan playing the Japanese Sumo Wrestler boyfriend of Reeves in '47 Ronin'!!
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 11:30:07 AM

I wish Reeves would play a role truly meant for him: the man-robot character in the full length version of the Styx's Mr. Roboto. "I don't think the guy who wrote Fast and Furious knows Japanese though." Doesn't know English either.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 11:49:15 AM

I'm sick of people bashing Tom Cruise as the "Last Samurai". It was NOR "Tom Cruise IS the Last Samura"... the title did NOT refer to him! It referred to that last troop of samurai whom he joined. yes, samurai is the plural form as well.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 11:58:20 AM

Last Samurai kicked ass- The Cruise casting is the only thing they can trash it with- and it only works IF you havent seen the movie already because anyone who's seen Zwick's film knows that comment holds no weight whatsoever.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:11:10 PM

Most redundant and circular statement ever.
adamboy writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:29:12 PM

hell ya reeves. he's got this in the bag.
makingcircles writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:32:40 PM

You are right Prevalentmind, I have not seen The Last Samurai...nor will I ever. I just don't like Tom Cruise films (save Jerry McGuire)...so that's where I was coming from on that comment. That is the "weight".
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 1:20:46 PM

Aside from Cruise's obvious miscast, I enjoyed The Last Samurai. And Jerry Maguire. And MI3. Thats about it, though...
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 4:16:22 PM

meh
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:09:57 PM

Last Samuri was great! although I'm not the biggest Tom Cruise fan he did great and I like Keanu way more and so I say, lets see where this goes.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved