WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Time Magazine's Top 10 Best Films of 2008

Posted: December 8th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Time MagazineSubmit Comment
Now that we're in the month of December, almost everyone is coming out with their own Top 10 Films of 2008 list. Today, we have one of these lists from Time Magazine, which has "Speed Racer" on the list, but not "The Dark Knight" or "The Wrestler."

Here is the full list with reasons why the magazine selected the films:

1. WALL-E: It hardly matters that the movie is not-quite-silent, when it blends art and heart as spectacularly as WALL-E does.

2. Synecdoche, New York: The movie keeps getting bigger and weirder and denser and sadder and finnier, till all the pressure on Caden leads to a final implosion.

3. My Winnipeg: It's weird-hilarious.

4. 4 Months, 3 Weeks & 2 Days: Strap yourself in for this minimalist, splendidly acted horror film.

5. Milk: A how-to exercise in marshalling dozens of characters and one big political issue into exemplary, edifying entertainment.

6. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button: Of all the movie's dazzling effects, the most special are the internal ones.

7. Slumdog Millionaire: With its nonstop pace and fearless dives into affairs of the heart, Slumdog Millionaire is a dervish delight.

8. Iron Man: In an excellent year for action films (Wanted, Hellboy II, The Dark Knight and Speed Racer), this was the coolest movie machine.

9. Speed Racer: Don't wait for the rip-offs; accept no substitutes. Speed Racer is the future of movies.

10. Encounters at the End of the World: Since Herzog has eyes as restless as they are acute, you'll see wonders here: active volcanoes, string band concerts, singing seals.

Do you think this list is accurate?

Source: Time Magazine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dianehussman writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:26:57 PM

Speed Racer...wow. One of the worst movies of 2008! WALL-E's great, but movies like Milk? The whole country hasn't had a chance to view some movies. We have four months until the first day of April.
brose617 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:27:25 PM

this is poop the dark night was the best this year by far. i mean half of these movies i have not even heard of look at the profits the dark night made!!!!!!!!1
WV-Films writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:33:28 PM

Somebody should be fired. Regardless of it's technical feat-Speed Racer does not belong on this list. If you want to put a movie on there and say it's the "future of movies" then Cloverfield should be on their way before Speed Racer. And even if it is "the future of movies" this does not constitute a spot on the "Best-of-2008" list. And for The Dark Knight to take a back seat to Iron Man is ludacris. Yes, Iron Man was a good movie, but by no means Dark Knight material. Whomever wrote this list was only looking to create controversy and did so by picking movies nobody saw and nobody liked, but decided to play it safe by putting Walle-E at top.
blake writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:41:38 PM

IS THIS GUY SERIOUS?!?! speed racer was AWFUL!!! WALL-E was good but def. NOT number one!!! THE DARK KNIGHT might not deserve number one but it should def. be on the top ten before IRON MAN!!!!....i think this guy was just kidding with us...
Sinestro writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:53:45 PM

What's so good about Wall-e? Am I supposed to love because it's environmentally conscious or because anything Pixar does is just good "because"? And come on, you have Speed Racer and f*cking Iron Man, but not Batman? The hell with that. This is just as lame as their "Top 10 video games" list.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:54:18 PM

What the f*ck? Has Time Magazine lost their f*cking mind?! WALL-E was cute, but nobody barely talked!! The Dark Knight isn't even on the f*cking list?! And Benjaming Button is only number 6?! Somebody was smoking some powerful herb when they came up with this list.
Quatro writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:54:33 PM

not only should Dark Knight be in the list, it should be #1. No matter what your movie tastes are, its one of the greatest films of all time.
danielplainview writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:57:30 PM

WALL-E?!?!?!?!? REALLY????? and dark knight is not even in the list??? This list is a joke!! A really sad joke!...
UraharaShop writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:59:07 PM

Speed Racer. Yikes. An addition like that causes the entire lost to lose credibility.
c-prime writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 9:02:05 PM

I can't believe "The Dark Knight" didn't make that list. Methinks Time Magazine is about to face an insurrection. "Speed Racer" is another huge shocker. I guess it could be worse though. They could've put "Hamlet 2" on the list (gasp!).
froman writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 9:17:15 PM

Were in the hell is The Dark Knight?,it is one of the best reviwed movies in lke 3 years,and it took in the most money since 1999,and the best superhero movie of all time(in front of hell boy 2,and iron man),but why in the flying f**k is speed racer on there?!,it is the worst reviewd movie of the year(beside meet dave),and it was the least money intaker of the summer.DARK KNIGHT:1,HELL BOY 2:2,WALL E:3,WANTED:4,MILK:5,IRON MAN:6,SLUMDOG MILONAIRE:7,CURIOUS CASE OF BENJERMAN BUTTON:8,SYNECDOCHE,NEW YORK:9,THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL:10
Spanza2 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 9:30:51 PM

Poorly made list.... Speed racer??? really???
BlueMobius writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 10:58:19 PM

Profits don't always a good movie make, brose617. Take Titanic, for example. Pretty terrible film, actually. The Dark Knight is one of those few examples when box office gold equals quality. And for those who didn't like Speed Racer, I say poo on you. Loved that movie!
Snarebeast writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 11:05:12 PM

I know these lists are opinionated. But honestly, Iron Man before Dark Knight? Speed Racer before Dark Knight? WALL-E BEFORE DARK KNIGHT?!
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 11:28:02 PM

Absolute. Stupidity. Time Magazine has gone off their rocker. Speed Racer? Seriously? And no Dark Knight? Or if they wanted to stick in another main stream film, why not Tropic Thunder maybe? Hell, anything except friggin Speed Racer.
AshTrey writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 11:49:19 PM

What are some of these movies.... numbers 3,4, and 10 I have never even heard of!!! I don't wanna be repeatative but this person needs to be kicked in the nuts or fired. We all know what should have been number 1. If were gonna make this a joke list lets just add The Love Guru and Saw 5....
JRprime writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:25:58 AM

you guys are clueless, speed racer was great
Kal-El writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:47:27 AM

Dark Knight was good, not great (altho the Joker was great) - I personally preferred Iron Man. Kung Fu Panda KILLS Wall-E. Haven't seen Speed Racer, waiting for a chance to catch it on BluRay.
PHURBY1984 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:53:05 AM

DO THEY REALLY THINK IRON MAN WAS BETTER THAN BATMAN...IT DIDN'T COME CLOSE TO MAKING AS MUCH MONEY AS BATMAN MADE...AND THE GREAT REVIEWS IT GOT IT SHOULD BE EITHER #1 OR #2, I SAY THAT JUST BECAUSE I HAVE HEARD A LOT OF GOOD THINGS ABOUT WALL-E, BUT I SAY IT SHOULD BE NUMBER 1....OH AND THE MOVIE THAT IS #6 HASNT EVEN COME OUT YET...SO THE CAN THEY KNOW IF IT'S GOOD OR NOT...IF THAT'S THE CASE I SAY X-MEN ORIGNS: WOLVERINE IS THE BEST MOVIE OF 2009...AND AS FOR IRON-MAN THERE WAS NOTHING SPECIAL ABOUT THAT MOVIE...IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT HERE THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS...TONY START GETS IN A CAR, THINGS BLOW UP, HE GOES INTO A CAVE, FOR 30 MINUTES BUILDS A METAL SUIT, LEAVES CAVE MORE THINGS BLOW UP, GOES HOME, SITES ON HIS ASS AGAIN FOR 45 MINUTES, BUILDS ANOTHER METAL SUIT, PUTS SUIT ON FOR 10 MINUTES FIGHTS AGAIN, BLOWS MORE STUFF UP, AFTER CREDITS SAMUEL L. JACKSON COMES OUT AND SAYS, (SAMUEL L. JACKSON SCREAMING VOICE) I AM NICK FURY...MOVIE OVER...I DON'T HAVE TIME TO DESCRIBE THE DARK KNIGHT, PLUS ITS A GREAT MOVIE DON'T WANT TO RUIN IT FOR YOU...I SAY WE ALL WATCH IT ONE MORE TIME WHEN THEY RE-RELEASE IT JAN. 23 SO IT CAN HELP IT CLEAN OUT THE OSCARS, AND THEN THE PERSON THAT WROTE THIS LISE CAN GO AND SUCK IT...
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:55:46 AM

Come on fascists, it is just someone's list. Maybe they didn't enjoy The Dark Knight. perhaps they're female. Who knows? Tastes are subjective. You boys should know that's the case. All the movies have two aspects sorely missing from Dark Knight: heart and soul.
polardeficit writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 12:59:19 AM

jesus minkowski everything was cool we were all laughing at how retarded time magazine is then you come in here with your im a douchey douche douche talk and ruin all the fun
huckabeast writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 1:07:29 AM

if speed racer is the future of movies, count me out.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 2:14:34 AM

Pole-Full-a-sh*t: Have you EVER read Time Magazine? Ever read anything beyond the Advocate's 'personal' section?
joeysammartino writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 2:50:02 AM

who the f*ck cares no one reads TIME anyway. Speed Racer needs to definitely get off this list. seriously haha. Bring in Dark Night and then the list is 30% good.
James.Speed writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 2:57:04 AM

that is so stupid. even people who arnt fans of batman, can admit that the dark knight was a great movie. i can understand if people dont want to rate it as the best film of the year, but for not to even reach the top ten, or to have speed racer above it, is just plain stupid. wall-e was good, but not the greatest movie this year. iron man was also good, but still not better than batman. australia and the wrestler deserve places on the list, far above milk, slumdog millionaire, and definatley speed racer. how stupid!
brazzmunkie writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 7:51:10 AM

this is the worst top ten list I've ever seen. Usually critics have just a few that I would disagree with but holy sh*t. Benjamin Button doesn't even come out till the 25th, speed racer was retarded and looks like a bad Old Navy commercial (ALL Old Navy commercials are bad). They just needed to add the freaky old lady and thats a wrap.
horrorfan005 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:17:43 AM

There smokin some good stuff over there! (How can i get some)
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 10:59:38 AM

that is a list not to be messed with. sure, some films shouldn't be on there (speed racer - but you can't argue that the style of it is clearly something for the future) and some films should be higher (ben button) but i for one am glad to see a list that doesn't suck the d*ck of christopher nolan and have a moments silence whenever the dark knight is mentioned. there were many many problems that i see in that film, and whenever i bring them up with fanboys, whats their arguement? heath ledger. yeah, he wasn't too bad in tdk, but he wasn't oscar material. he was joker material. and i also could not give less of a sh*t if he was dead - thats the only reason he will get an oscar. just giving me 2 cents here. todays forecast is sh*tstorm
Snarebeast writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 1:18:41 PM

Not oscar worthy? Really? I know it's your opinion and all, but really? Heath became that character. It didn't feel like I was watching a performance, it felt like I was watching this person truly carry out his plan. I was enthralled in his character and the portrayal. The only other movie to do that for me in recent memory is There Will Be Blood. And I say that as someone who did not become a Heath fanboy immediately after his death.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 2:51:57 PM

Time should go back to photographing decapitations as well as other torture porn. Time- who gives a sh*t- it's as relevant these days as a newspaper- even less....but Wall E, My Winnepeg, and Slumdog Millionaire will be on many other top 10 lists- those 3 belong...I see why Ebert made a Top 20 this year...So many great movies ya can't chop them down to ten.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:21:07 PM

f*ckING BULLsh*t LIST! WHO APPROVED THIS? DARK KNIGHT! DARK KNIGHT!! some of these titles were limited release or not even released yet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved