WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Working on "Dark Knight" Sequel Story

Posted: December 8th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Working on "Dark Knight" Sequel StorySubmit Comment
"The Dark Knight" director Christopher Nolan spoke with USA Today, telling the paper that he is hesitant about starting the third Batman movie, because third installments in franchises don't do very well. Just look at "Shrek the Third," "Spider-Man 3," "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" and many others.

"I don't know why they're hard to do," said Nolan. "Maybe there's so much expectation to them. But I wouldn't want to do one if it weren't going to be as good as the first or second. That's not respectful to the fans."

The DVD for "Knight" will be available in stores tomorrow (December 9th) and we already heard that Heath Ledger does not appear in any of the deleted scenes. According to Nolan, it has nothing to do with Ledger's death. "For my past three films, I really haven't had scenes that didn't make it in the movie," he said. "If it's in the final script, I tend put it on screen."

At this point Nolan is jotting notes and oding some rough outlines for a third story, but he hasn't yet found anything he's willing to commit to film, despite Warner Bros' eagerness to get a new film underway. "It was obvious when the box office was so big ($530 million domestically) that we had underestimated how ready fans were to reboot the franchise," he said. "The worst thing you could do now that you've gotten the plane back in the air is mess up the landing."

In addition, Nolan recently spoke during a "Dark Knight" Blu-ray event where he said that he would like to shoot an entire film in IMAX. He explained that shooting with an IMAX camera is very expensive and too noisy to capture dialogue. So, all conversations would have to be shot using a 65mm camera and combined in post-production. [via AICN]

Source: USA Today, AICN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Metafact writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 1:52:57 PM

That's cool, Mr. Nolan. Take as much time as you need. After what you did with The Dark Knight, I trust whatever you do with the Batman series.
RonnieJamesDio writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 1:53:14 PM

there is definitely a third movie curse in trilogies. There are some exceptions such as The Return of the King and The Revenge of the Sith. Sith didn't have much to beat but it was certainly the best of that trilogy. Honestly I don't see how anything could beat Dark Knight. I would be satisfied as long as it is as good as Begins.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 2:16:10 PM

NOLAN, dont be stupid, make a third, the stroy will be good, include the riddler, let Johnny depp play him. The curse will end for sh*tty thirds im tellin u!, just bring in depp and the riddler.
Spanza2 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 3:13:42 PM

Haha yaa please take your sweet time...ill give it a year for a script and hopefully a film in the next 2 years, allow the big guns to get free for the film(depp as the riddler) and make sure Bale, Cain, and Freeman can all return, you have my faith and as much as it sucks ill wait for it and so will america
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 3:52:32 PM

I hope he doesn't try to go too big with the next one. He must feel so much pressure. I think the fact that he is focused to have a "Good script" is key. I totally trust him to be able to determine what good script means too. Even if he doesn't choose Depp for the Riddler (if Riddler is the villian) I'm okay with that too. I was pissed when he chose Ledger as the Joker because I wanted Crispin Glover to be the Joker. Obviously I misjudged Ledger's ability....so now I trust whatever Nolan wants to do.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 3:53:57 PM

Kidmer, please shut the f*ck up. Johnny Depp as the Riddler? No. No. No. Nolan, take your time. I trust you fully with the Batman series.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 4:58:58 PM

"Nolan, take your time. I trust you fully with the Batman series." I'm very sure a man as accomplished as Nolan takes your confidence in his skills very much to heart. lol. Sheer arrogance on your part.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 6:26:29 PM

If Johnny f*cking Depp gets cast in any Batman movie I am going to cut off my head and shove it up my own ass. This way, I'll finally get to appreciate his genius from the same perspective as all you Captain Jack fanatics. Maybe he could bring a terrible British accent to the role? Maybe he could tease his hair really high and have dark rings around his sad, troubled eyes? Maybe Chris Nolan will get Mike Myers to come on board also and do a Scottish accent for Killer Croc?
lemus869 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 6:56:24 PM

Take your sweet time, PLEASE!!! Just make a good third one and i can die peacefully...Its only my opinion but i would vote Ryan Gosling or Guy Pierce as The Riddler..if nobody has seen THE BELIEVER please SEE IT!! then you might agree to ryan gosling
meanmonkey22 writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:45:05 PM

eViL.kEv, couldn't of said it better myself. Minkowski, suck a fat one. :)
WV-Films writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:52:07 PM

Do any of you think he's actually reading these posts? Like he's going to decide the outcome of his multimillion dollar trilogy off of a bunch of fanboy comments telling him to take his time?
froman writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 9:26:05 PM

mr.nolan,take your time and take your time
m5dmb28 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 1:59:03 AM

i can't see depp as the riddler. hoever, i couldn't see heath as the joker. his performance turned out to be my favorite by any actor that i've ever seen. besides, it's a rumor! probably by just some dude sitting on his couch who decided to start a rumor for sh*ts and giggles. and also, nolan may not even make the movie! although, that's kind of crazy to think. i'm sure warner bros is gonna pressure him into doing it. trust nolan! i do! ps - lemus869, i can see gosling as the riddler, that would be kinda cool i think.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:11:00 PM

DO IT TO IT MR. NOLAN! Whatever you do will be solid gold once again! I think you've made that very clear to the world with that masterpiece you gave us several months back. JDEPP for the RIDDLER!
mattcl23 writes:
on December 10th, 2008 at 7:25:00 PM

What about Ryan Reynolds as the riddler? I think he would be great.
seveltoto writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 11:03:57 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved