WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott Planning a Non-Alien "Alien" Sequel

Posted: December 6th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott Planning a Non-Alien "Alien" SequelSubmit Comment
MTV News chatted with Sigourney Weaver about the future of the "Alien" franchise, with Weaver stating: "There's definitely uncharted territory for Ripley."

However, Weaver thinks it might be too late for the Alien, since it has already been overexposed in the two "AVP" films. She wonders "whether there's uncharted territory for a creature who's become somewhat debased by this computer generated thing. I haven't seen ["Alien Vs. Predator"] but I just think if you overexpose the creature, that's a mistake."

Weaver confirmed that she and director Ridley Scott have discussed re-teaming for a fifth film. "Both of us feel a kind of commitment to that woman," she explained. "He's as much responsible for who she is as I am."

So it seems that Weaver and Scott are more interested in the Ripley character than the Alien creature. "We'd have to go back to the drawing board on [the alien]," she said. "Ridley said that right away when we first talked about [a fifth film]."

She added: "What we're interested in is taking the character of Ripley and seeing what other science fiction story we can tell about someone who has lived several lives."

Would you want to see a non-Alien Ripley movie?

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 6:04:23 PM

meh, i dunno maybe, it has to be some kind od wickedness like ridd*ck, or some new creature... make it good like that then.
WV-Films writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 7:17:11 PM

Alien 5 without the classic "Alien" alien will bomb.
Metafact writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 7:27:25 PM

That sounds great! Then they could make a Star Wars movie without the Jedi, a Lord of the Rings movie without Hobbits, and a Batman movie with no Batman!
jake812 writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 8:25:23 PM

id love to see anything starring sigourney weaver
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 11:44:20 PM

What if Ripley met Ridd*ck? how cool would that be.
MovieFanAttic writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 11:53:19 PM

By the way metafact, they did make a starwars movi with no Jedi, it was called the Ewok movies.
minkowski writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 2:21:00 AM

"it was called the Ewok movies." Yes, and you see how well they worked?
NeoArgus writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 10:17:13 AM

They should couple her story with an origins story of the Aliens... But not call it "Alien: Origins", because i will throw up if that is the title.
Blank x2 writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 12:37:09 PM

"Ewok movie".....two words that should NEVER go together for any reason.
BlueMobius writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 3:29:57 PM

Simple solution: Call the movie "Ripley." I'd definitely be there if they made another movie about that character.
Frankichiro writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 3:37:49 PM

YES! This is exactly what they should do. The aliens are not so exciting any more. I would really love a movie that explored the rest of that sci-fi universe, and focused more on Ellen Ripley and her life. She's like Rambo, coming home from war, and have to adapt to a world that doesn't understand her. She's a far more interesting character to build a great sci-fi story around than any alien could ever be again. Besides, she's even part alien herself now, which most definitely gives way to some form of Ridd*ck like plot. Seriously, this might just become the best sci-fi movie in years if they do it right, which I have full faith in.
Jack the reaper writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 8:07:34 PM

I hate alien vs predator,becoz the story is so predictable,but i love mrs.ripley.welcome back 'mummy alien'
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:05:50 AM

I agree with her...aliens were over exposed and lost their "scariness". I think having her go a different adventure and kick some ass. I'd be down with that. More character driven. That'd be a hard idea to come up with though in terms of who will be the antagonist.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 8:51:13 AM

Well the fact that AVP was devoid of SUSPENSE...I'd like to see the creatures filmed by a director who has the ability to make they seem menacing and smart again. They dumbed the alien down a whole lot to match it up with the predator...Am I the only one who remembers how ingenius just ONE of these things were? (Alien 3: Think hard: was there ever a harder sunovabitch to kill onscreen before or since?) But get them in a pack or horde and they became mindless insects I guess...
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:27:42 PM

How about if they make one where 3 and 4 were just a dream Ripley was having while they were in Cryosleep at the end of 2? Then fast forward some years with Newt all grown up as well as Hicks. Then do a Alien home planet plot where they bring Ripley, Hicks, and Newt in as "experts" but then there is some huge plot twist of some sort that throws fans for a loop. Maybe like there is never really a home planet...just planets that have been taken over by the Alien. I don't know...something like that. A real Sci-Fi epic. More suspense and thought-provoking scenes rather than action.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:30:11 PM

Sorry for cutting down the other ideas- but why stretch what has already happened to a more convoluted state?
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:33:06 PM

Ripley has an enemy besides the Aliens that has NEVER been explored...I'm talking about "The Company"...The company wouldn't stop at one creature for weapons development- they'd have a few other 'options', and eventually they'd transport those options to Earth for study...There's your new plot. Damn I'm good.
The Man writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:41:53 PM

After the 2nd move "Aliens" the franchise went way donw hill.
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 12:51:55 PM

I remember seeing Alien 3 in theaters and being slightly disappointed just because they killed off Newt and Hicks (which they did for casting reasons I'm certain) but now I think it holds it's own is definitely a good addition to the series. I see where you are going "Prevalentmind" with the "Company" bringing in another creature. However, then all you would have is just a copy of all the other "Take over earth" storylines which would seem almost cheesy I think. What about if those big creatures that brought the Aliens in the first one bend time to save Ripleys escape ship in Aliens from being destroyed because they need her to save their world. Then you could have a space journey with stops and it would all end at the creatures home planet with Ripley and Hicks and Newt trying to save their world. Something like that...EPIC!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 1:40:10 PM

Sounds interesting regardless.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 3:01:46 PM

By "options" I didn't necessarily mean 'another alien'- it could be technology. Nothing has to take over the world- we just need to find Ripley compelling conflict that relates to her past...the company could also be conforming the world or suppressing it- it doesn't have to be a world disaster movie. I like the giant aliens idea- BUT that's a deleted scene dude. Only in the directors cut- so we can't use fanboy collectibles to further the story- we have to stick to the theatrical cut and go from there.
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 4:09:22 PM

Hmmm...I believe that you see the creature when the astronauts first enter the ship. Google "Alien Space Jockey" under images and you'll see what I mean. I guess I'm not hundred percent sure that part wasn't in the original but I could swear that the cast walks by him in the theatrical version (not just the directors cut).
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 4:25:08 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Space_Jockey_(Alien)
makingcircles writes:
on December 8th, 2008 at 4:27:20 PM

I just found the above link and it not only proves that the scene was in the orginal...but it also said that Ridley Scott said at one point that "a film exploring the backstory of the Space Jockey would be an interesting direction for the series to take." Interesting stuff in there I never knew though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 8:22:23 AM

Aww sorry I mixed up your comments- I thought you were speaking of the giants from ALIENS- I forgot that about Alien...and I see what you're getting at...but is that really something credible enough to continue a story...YOu've seen the aliens- meet where they came from? Doesn't that just suck us back into the same story as before? Investigating an unknown creature- trying to find such- and meeting hellish doom. I just don't think audiences would remember that brief scene- especially if a fan like yourself can barely do so...I just don't see it having the MEAT to put on a film's bones. The company plot gives you the opportunity to create many villains and sideplots. where one gives you open terrain to go in different directions and the other puts you in the same box. Mine's flawed too as I think it's mentioned somewhere in the series that The Company has been disbanded- but that curruption had to go somewhere- it had to form other organizations.
Black_Jack writes:
on December 9th, 2008 at 9:08:18 AM

No. What would you call it, "Ripley"? The tagline: "This time, you CAN hear her scream!"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved