WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Darren Aronofksy Planning to Re-Visit "The Fountain"

Posted: December 5th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Darren Aronofksy Planning to Re-Visit "The Fountain"Submit Comment
MTV News attended a Fox Searchlight Pictures party, which director Darren Aronofsky attended to celebrate his "The Wrestler" film. MTV asked him about his next project and the answer might surprise you.

His plan is to revisit the box office failure "The Fountain," which has become a sci-fi cult hit on DVD. "It wouldn't be a 'director's cut,'" he said more like an alternate story told with the addition of unused footage from the first film. He added that due to the complexity of the project, it would be several years before fans would be able to see it.

The film follows Tom (Hugh Jackman) as he searches for the fountain of youth that will save the life of Izzi (Rachel Weisz), the woman he loves. As a 16th Century Spanish conquistador, a doctor in a modern day American city, and as an astronaut circa 2500 AD, Tom's 1000 year-long journey finally begins to unravel the mysteries of life.

"The Fountain" earned $16 million worldwide ticket sales on a $35 million budget.

Are you looking forward to an alternate version of "The Fountain"?

Click here to read our "The Fountain" review.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
James.Speed writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:52:33 AM

As long as Hugh Jackman returns, Im happy.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:15:55 AM

Absolutely. Fantastic flick.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 8:12:51 AM

I don't want to see him go under. I love the projects but I want the man to get on top- not mainstream per say, but surely be credited as a go-to guy for thought provoking film...try to find a way to get more exposure on the first one before investing so much time and energy on a core group that though dedicated is just too small to support these ideas financially...Increase the audience first- it's a great movie.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:44:38 AM

i dont care, i know jackman f*cked weisz that was good.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:47:32 AM

The movie was great, so more is welcomed. Now where is the Deluxe Director's Cut Final Edition on Blu-Ray?!
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:59:36 AM

Did you miss the whole made 16 million on a 30 million dollar budget...? Things need to make money before other avenues can be taken.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 10:20:47 AM

"The Fountain" earned $16 million worldwide ticket sales on a $35 million budget." - this is somewhat misleading imo. When sh*t like Twilight makes 50-hundred gojillion dollars (rough estimate) on opening weekend it means next to nothing to me that a smart, intricate and thought provoking film like the fountain failed at the box office. Today's movie goer seems to have the attention span of a c*cker spaniel on uppers and I'm never surprised to see a good movie "fail" and horrifically bad movie set records. Anyway - I loved the first movie but I'm not sure I need or want to know more; i enjoyed the ambiguity of the original. I was left with a feeling that any conclusion about what is or wasn't real or what was actually happening vs. what fantasy or imagined was subjective.
Kal-El writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:28:12 PM

does the additional footage from The Fountain create a story that makes sense?
Schwasted writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:37:37 PM

The Fountain was Darren's most ambitious concept but it was definitely his worst movie. If this expands on the original 90 minutes I'm interested.
c-prime writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:20:18 PM

Wow, a movie minkowski finally approves of. Eh, an alternate version could work. The original was trippy as f*ck, but an overall good movie, I guess. Definitely featured some impressive visuals that I'm sure we'll see more of in the redux.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:47:40 PM

The movie wasn't a big screen version of an acid trip. It makes sense if you take into account Eastern spiritual concepts like reincarnation. The film makes sense with a little knowledge. You just have to 'meditate' on the flick for a bit.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved