WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight" to be Re-Released on January 23rd

Posted: December 5th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight" to be Re-Released on January 23rdSubmit Comment
Remember when SuperheroHype said that Warner Bros will not re-release "The Dark Knight" next year? Apparently, that's not quite true. The studio will re-release the film in theaters on January 23rd in a nationwide launch, guaranteeing that it will become the fourth film to take in more than $1 billion in worldwide ticket sales.

"The Dark Knight" earned a total of $530.3 million domestically and $465.9 million internationally, leaving it less than $4 million short of the billion-dollar milestone. Only "Titanic," "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" and "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest" have topped that mark.

"The Dark Knight" also is the second-highest domestic grosser of all time, trailing only "Titanic."

The re-release will come six weeks after the DVD launch of "Knight," set for Tuesday (December 9th).

Dan Fellman, president of Warner's domestic distribution, made the announcement. "We wanted to provide one more opportunity for moviegoers to experience it on the bigscreen as it was meant to be seen," he added.

Will you go see the movie again?

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
cappin99 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:13:51 AM

Yes. May be I'll check it out on IMAX this time around.
James.Speed writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:42:03 AM

I sure will! Nothing like seeing it on the big screen.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:17:42 AM

Dumb, dumb idea. But if they can pump and squeeze a few more dollars from a cash-stretched population of people, more power to them. Greed always wins.
Agent Calavera writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 5:34:10 AM

Last week i saw both Batman Begins and The Dark Knight back to back in the IMAX at Manchester (UK) almost melted my eyes!
freshfromthedeli writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 8:07:32 AM

They picked a good weekend. The only "competition" they'll have is Underworld 3 (lame) and Inkheart (which looks like a cheap rip-off of Bedtime Stories).
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:45:41 AM

yaaaa!!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:52:35 AM

Jesus... milking the movie is lame considering they want to break records that can only be reached by extending their theatre time which is weak for records' sake. I think IMAX is the way to go but this is too much and could hurt other movies like Che & The Reader for examples.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 10:10:09 AM

I tried 3 times to see DK in IMAX during the initial release and was never able to get a ticket so I'm glad to get another opportunity to see it in the big format. And for the record, nice irony that "Che" might suffer a loss at the box office. Capitalist pigs! Commies suck :)
MRW007 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 11:46:04 AM

who cares!!?
Digital Desperado writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 12:05:16 PM

This rerelease is just a way to increase the heat on TDK´s run for the Oscars. But, as much as I would like to see it win, fat chance that the stuffy Academy will give any awards to this, aside from the technical categories.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:07:13 PM

You never know - Return of the King made a nice run during the oscars. A Batfilm, especially this one running the table isn't just wishful thinking.
UraharaShop writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:10:52 PM

I don't think it's a weak strategy. I mean, Titanic was in theaters for six months. If that's not milking it I don't know what is. I don't think I'll see it though, 3 times is enough and the blu ray should keep me satisfied.
Schwasted writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:34:55 PM

I've seen The Dark Knight in Imax 7 times. It's the only way to go and is ten times the size of a regular 35mm screen at your local multiplex. The more I read about the blu ray disc the more I'm disappointed. Wall-E is the best feature on blu at the moment. If the Imax feature on The Dark Knight is as described I will be happy.
jsoto127 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:41:05 PM

STUPID IDEA WHAT WASTE
LonnyManCan writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:42:05 PM

why pay to watch once when you can get the DVD or Bluray and watch over and over and over again?
Blank x2 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:26:31 PM

You people are hilarious. This is more to get the movie an Oscar nod than to make a few more dollars. I think 900+ million is enough. Think about it people....this is right around Oscar nomination time. People who think this is all about money are stupid. Plain and simple. If you are reading this, and you think it's all about money, then guess what....you're stupid, too.
AP102390 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:50:09 PM

Hell yea i will.
UraharaShop writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 4:01:30 PM

Blank x2, thanks for stating what 18 websites, including this one, have already stated. We may be stupid, but you're not smart, you can just read.
lemus869 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 6:22:14 PM

Ive seen the movie 11 times and i sure am going to see it 11 more times!!!! DARK KNIGHT RULES!!! when it was announced that the dark knight wasnt going to be re-realesed, i doubted it and found on BOF.com that it wasnt true, so BOF is a good source for all you batman fans to know
lemus869 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 6:31:56 PM

i3u7n5(aka Discriminater), whats wrong with commis, they just people who have different veiws that us, plus they see the U.S. as the most worthless country in the world, which i agree on,and no iam not an anti-american, iam just anti-injustice in america, Che rules!!!
dianehussman writes:
on December 6th, 2008 at 1:32:02 PM

Absolutely. No movie going experience can even compare to seeing The Dark Knight on IMAX screens. It's simply phenomenal.
i am the anti-christ writes:
on December 7th, 2008 at 5:52:09 PM

OVERDOSE!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved