WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer is Off "Superman Returns" Sequel

Posted: December 5th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer is Off "Superman Returns" SequelSubmit Comment
UGO had the chance to speak to director Bryan Singer about his upcoming "Valkyrie" film, but also made sure to ask him about the "Superman Returns" sequel.

The conversation was basically the site beating answers out of Singer. Once of the questions was whether he is involved in the negotiations that are currently going on about the direction of the sequel. "I am not officially involved in the talk, no," said Singer, adding that he is not completely off the project.

Sounds like Warner Bros will choose a different director for the second installment, but will keep Singer on as a producer. Last we heard, Brandon Routh will be back and that the film is a top priority at the studio.

Do you want Singer replaced?

Click here to read more about "Superman: The Man of Steel."

Source: UGO


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
James.Speed writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:37:34 AM

Bryan Singer is a fantastic director. X-Men, X-Men 2, The Usual Suspects, Apt Pupil, and Valkyrie are all great films. I think Superman Returns was great, but I know it didnt recieve top notch reviews by some. However, his planns for the sequel sounded great. Im very disapointed Singer won't be back. I hope they keep Routh though. Hey, maybe Singer can direct X-Men: First Class now!
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:24:23 AM

Thank God and Allah. Superman Returns is by far the worst Superman film. Boring wooden acting, Lois Lane a total bitch lacking any of the quirky humor-laced irritation of Kidder. Superman with a child? LOL. What a load of non-canon crap. Singer's only good film is Unusual Suspects, and the appeal dies after the first viewing. Apt Pupil is a poor imitation of the Stephen King novella/short story whatever. Have you even SEEN Valkyrie? It isn't released until the day after That Holiday Day, err, I mean Christmas.
MrSammich writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 6:27:56 AM

Good, he totally left a gay aura with SR.
Javicon writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 7:14:44 AM

Synger's a great director. "Unusual..." a GREAT film (no matter how many times I see it). Valkyrie is gonna rule. Superman... ok, it could've been better but it's NOT a bad movie. And I think that with the second film he might have done like with the X-men frnchise: make a very much better second one. I have confident in him
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 8:42:46 AM

I got what I expected with X Men- the sequel just made better on the promise...but Superman Returns was the biggest disappointment I have seen in a LONG time...especially the chill we got from hearing Anthony Hopkins in the original trailers- the way those trailer set it up as an origin story- and when we get there we realize we should have gone back and watched alll the old 80's films to make sense of the plot...TWF?!?! Good director yes- but the direction he took with SR was TERRIBLE. Thanks for beginning a race of little half breed superbabies...GREAT DIRECTION!!! (oh yeah- there's the sarcasm)
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:12:51 AM

Singer unfortunately fell to fandom. He should have looked at the character as the director he is and not the fan he is. The Original movie was rehashing while trying to hard to push the envelope. Sad, because I hoped for greatness and true continuation.
BREALZ writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:15:24 AM

hate to say it, but SR really sucked. and i am a huge superman fan, not sure if it was the script, or Routh, or the directing, but it is time to go in a different direction. even smallville is a better representation of superman!
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 9:47:35 AM

singer sucked at it, alot, i believe they should bring back richard donner, or i also believe darren aronofsky, he wouldnt be bad i find
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 10:05:24 AM

"Superman Returns is by far the worst Superman film"...um, did you happen to see "Quest for Peace"? SR had it's problems to be sure but 4 was simply unbearable and Singer was the main problem followed by a slow script and poor acting by the severely miscast Bosworth as Lois. I hope ROuth returns for the sequel and they up the pacing/action, do away with the goofy henchmen and hijinx pulling Luthor and give Supes a real, solid go this time.
makingcircles writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 12:05:58 PM

Singer tried and failed. He did to Superman what Ang Lee did to Hulk. We need new writers, new director, new Lois Lane. Just don't f#*!k it up Warner Bros.
Digital Desperado writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 12:21:12 PM

This is good news. Singer is talented, and did good work on the X-Men, but "Superman Returns" was terrible, boring, with no action, Luthor and Lois were ridiculous, and Superman was reduced to a whiny little bitch that gets his ass kicked by a bunch of stupid goons, and just sort of flys around accomplishing nothing, so anything Singer has to say about Supes doesnīt interest me.Itīs time for a new vision.
jsoto127 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:40:04 PM

I HOPE HE DOESN'T DO ANOTHER SUPERMAN!!!!
justinius writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 1:50:37 PM

i'm not sure that bryan singer was the problem with superman returns. the usual suspects and xmen 1 & 2 were great. jon peters was the problem. warner bros should get rid of that guy. ever see the video of kevin smith talking about his involvement with jon peters and superman? it's pretty enlightening. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgYhLIThTvk
Blank x2 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 2:28:30 PM

I would like to see him stay on the project, but it's not the directors that ruin the Superman movies. It is the WRITERS. If they could come up with a decent, fresh story with a worthy physically-imposing villain, anyone could direct it. I just wish they wouldn't blame Singer for something that was not his fault.
jake812 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:29:11 PM

I think is the best thing to do. Bryan Singer is a good director, but i believe Warner Bros should go in the direction proposed by Brett Ratner and that superman trilogy
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:29:13 PM

"I would like to see him stay on the project, but it's not the directors that ruin the Superman movies. It is the WRITERS. If they could come up with a decent, fresh story with a worthy physically-imposing villain, anyone could direct it. I just wish they wouldn't blame Singer for something that was not his fault." Now you're thinking. Remember that nugget of wisdom when Ratner comes into discussion. Also recall that Singer has a writing credit for SR, so I'm not sure how much involvement the man had with that film, but I do know that almost ALL of his films have a slow and laborious pacing that infuriates a viewer expecting smart and biting action along with intelligent characterization and dialogue. I didn't get that from SR and the first two X-Men films were just two damned slow. Blame the editor the director and the writers, but those three films could have been far better. Superman needs a trilogy. it deserves that treatment. Start over. Forget the Reeve movies. Start with a badass clever and semi-dark origin movie. Move on to his death in the second film and a intense action packed final third film that leaves the audiences in the throws of cinematic orgasm. Will I see any of that? No. DC obviously can't manage their property very well, not nearly as well as Marvel, and the only guy that has a clue on that side of the comic film genre is Nolan.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 3:34:24 PM

darren aronofsky is far too cerebral for a comic book, IMO. Even if handed a script written by Smith god forbid or someone else, Darren would still try to integrate Mayan eschatology or quantum mechanics. His brain isn't the kind we need on Superman. We need an old action nerd to write the script, someone with a broad understanding of 70 years of Superman. Somone that can create villains that the audience can connect to, someone that write battle scenes Viking gods would envy. Who is that person? It isn't Ratner or Singer or even Goyer, though I'd prefer the last by far over the first two.
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 5:14:34 PM

I do not know how anyone could mistake Superman Returns for an origin story when the title implies it is a sequel of sorts. The trailer never mentioned the title 'Superman Returns'?
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 5:21:25 PM

The writers are definitely the problem, at least the first of many but that's where I'd start if I were tasked to fix the Superman franchise.Peters is an obvious problem but I didn;t see too much of his influence on SR (thankfully) As far as Aronofsky is concerned, he would be suited for Vertigo type comics, if any at all. I'd love to see his take on Alan Moore's "Swamp Thing", hell even the Sandman (more Wesley Dodds version than Morpheus) would be a great Aronofsky project. Something cerebral, dark; superhero books - not his strong suit I'm afraid.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on December 5th, 2008 at 6:05:45 PM

I hope they dont just try to copy the Dark Knight and make the next Superman all dark and gloomy. An actual villian actually FIGHTS superman would be good. The Death of Superman story could be sweet.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved