WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Dark Knight" Will NOT be Re-Released in January

Posted: December 2nd, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Dark Knight" Will NOT be Re-Released in JanuarySubmit Comment
Back in September, it was reported that Warner Bros would re-release "The Dark Knight" in January 2009, during the height of the Academy Awards voting season. "It's just a matter of bringing it back as a reminder for people," a studio insider said.

Now, SuperheroHype has learned that this will not happen, even though Warners domestic distribution president Dan Fellman had already started talks with IMAX executives about the prospect of re-releasing the film in several IMAX venues.

"The Dark Knight" has now earned $996.1 million in worldwide ticket sales and could have surpassed the $1 billion mark if it would have been re-released. For now, the studio will have to settle for the million it will bring in when the blockbuster appears in stores on DVD and Blu-ray on December 9th.

Do you care if the film breaks the $1 billion mark?

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: SuperheroHype


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MRW007 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 5:07:52 PM

awww well thats a damn shame. boo hoo hoo
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 7:04:53 PM

the movie deserves the money it makes
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 9:03:53 PM

Its time has passed anyway. A summer fad no more. Putting it back in theaters is nothing more than a cash grab. The film wouldn't likely make much cash on re-release. In addition, doing so might edge out other films, along with the fact the DVD and BluRay will soon hit store shelves in time for a holiday season under the strain of a economic recession. So yeah people won't spend ten bucks a head, after Christmas has drained all free cash and credit cards, to see a movie they've already seen, while owning the film at home. Bad, bad idea.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 9:05:36 PM

"the movie deserves the money it makes" Titanic made twice Dark Knight, and Titanic definitely doesn't deserve 2 billion in revenue. A billion for Dark Knight is ridiculous.
Schwasted writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 9:06:09 PM

I want to see it in IMAX again!
lemus869 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 10:09:01 PM

WARNING: The Dark Knight WILL BE re-released check it out yourself; http://www.batman-on-film.com/batmovienews.html
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 10:57:09 PM

In IMAX. That lame website offers no source, just that some 'WB official' says 'not true'. The f*cking janitor may have told BOF there will be no re-release of DK for all anyone knows. Everyone knows DK is going to IMAX, so that may be what this so-called offical is yapping on about.
steamluv writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 11:40:52 PM

minkowski, jesus christ I hate you.
kevo10183 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 11:57:26 PM

hearing what minkowski has to cry about is another reason I visit this website so much ha
jetdog writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 12:50:06 AM

well the more time pasts and higher prices for the movies the easier the billion mark will get.. now that lots of places have ticket prices that hit the 12 or 15 dollar mark.. for your big blockbuster films it will be easier.. so titanic came out 97 it was a liitle harder to make the billion dollar mark i respect more. but i love that the dark knight beat out all the pirites movies and shriek movies they get on my nerves!
Deathscythe writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 2:33:43 AM

spelling, it's not just for pre-schoolers anymore
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 4:09:27 AM

"minkowski, jesus christ I hate you" I understand you hate me, and I don't give a damn how some ape-shaped can of pre-ejaculant feels about me, but wtf did Christ ever do to you? Was it 'homosexuals are an abomination' thing, or the his vehement entreaties against incest that has so set you against the Messiah?
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 4:29:52 AM

Btw, 'steamluv', and what a queer nick right?. Anyway, hating someone is so low. I don't any of you, no matter what you say. Small minds, petty little people hate so easily as you've just admitted. You don't know me, but to express so much hatred over opinions that do not impugn on your existence is pretty shallow. i mean, give me a f*cking break. Hate me? See it's sad little people like you, with your mentality, that kill over words or a difference of opinion. people like you, the ones that ren't simpering cowards, blow up buses over a different way of viewing the world. So you see how intolerant you are? I but you look in the f*cking mirror and say "I'm cool, I'm open-minded fair and tolerant". Maybe not, but i imagine you and so many others just like you view yourself that way, and yet, you can't handle mere words over the internet, words calculated for intensity, without foaming and frothing at the mouth like a tugging pack of mad, rabid and mindless hounds. There's a word that applies: fascism. It's everywhere, and it's a creeping disease. Get my drift? Smell what's cooking here? Nah, I doubt it. people like you hold on to your small-minded bigotry while playing fiddle to hypocrisy by advocating so-called tolerance, when in fact such tolerance is really no more than the echo of society propagandizing your pedestrian acc*mulation of inferior thoughts. And you hate me? you should hate yourself for having ever shared such a dark emotion over the mere offering of an opinion that dares to be bold and differ from the obvious group mentality. Too bad but tough sh*t.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 4:33:40 AM

"spelling, it's not just for pre-schoolers anymore" Children infatuated with idiotic grim-reaper themed nicks. it's not just for emo goth dorks in Tim Burton makeup amymore.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 9:22:14 AM

This is starting to make the Ain't it Cool talk back section look like a who's who of MENSA.
Johnny Neat writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 9:30:13 AM

I agree with Mincrazy here, it would be poor taste considering everything. At worst it would hurt other movies being released for at best a little bit more money. Makes for a bad industry precedent.
mill7921 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 11:02:27 AM

its silly to argue like that over the internet. Minkowsi has made it obvious that he just likes to hear himself talk. No one REALLY cares that much about what you say and obviously he doesn't really hate you. The only reason he doesn't like you is because you say dumb things like that novel you just wrote about oppression. Give me a break and give everyone else a break. No one cares. AND there is no reason to argue on the INTERNET... thats just silly. Discussing is one thing, but heated arguments with vulgar language are just inappropriate. ITS THE INTERNET.
jake812 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 11:26:10 AM

geez minkowski i bloody hate you too mate, please go get yourself a friggin' life
jake812 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 11:27:58 AM

and i dont care if it isnt re released as long as it still gets some academy awards. who would ever thought that a batman movie would be up for some oscars. crazy.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 4:12:13 PM

"vulgar language are just inappropriate. " Yes, mother."geez minkowski i bloody hate you too mate, please go get yourself a friggin' life" Thanks. I'll take it under advisement.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved