WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Superman Could Appear in "Green Lantern" Movie

Posted: December 2nd, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Superman Could Appear in "Green Lantern" MovieSubmit Comment
The "Green Lantern" co-writer Marc Guggenheim told MTV News that new DC Comics movie is moving forward nicely, even if discussions about other characters get in the way.

"This morning, we sat down to talk Green Lantern," he explained. "And we ended up riffing for an hour and a half on another, much more obscure character. I'm sure the studio wouldn’t be happy about it, but we're not going to blow the deadline. We'll get it in."

Guggenheim added that he and fellow screenwriters Michael Green and Greg Berlanti (who's also directing the film) are on the third studio draft, and they've just been refining the script based on studio notes and locations.

"[The changes are] nothing that's affecting the storyline, really," he said. "It's pretty well set. But sometimes we'll move a scene to a different location for budget purposes, perhaps in an already established location instead of a new one. It's a question of, which locations can we live without?"

Guggenheim also talked about cameos. He added that while he thought it would have been great if Tom Welling ("Smallville") appeared in "Batman Begins" as a young Clark Kent to meet with a young Bruce Wayne, that scene could have taken the audience out of the film.

"Brandon Routh or even Tom Welling [in 'Green Lantern'] would be awesome," he said. "And anything is possible. The beauty part of being the writer, though, is that I don't actually have to make that judgment call."

Would you like to see Christian Bale or Brandon Routh in the "Green Lantern" movie?

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:06:37 PM

...ugh...shut up with these stupid f*cking questions- NO we don't to see Bale's Batman diminished to a gimmick and we'd rather see Superman in a modern movie that was GOOD before moving him into GL's world...geeez....again...ugh!
Sylanya writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:24:35 PM

No, I would not like Batman to appear in a Green Lantern or Superman movie, nor would I want either of them to appear in any of the upcoming Batman movies (if there are going to be more). I like that the Batman universe exists on its own and is not connected to the other superhero films/franchises.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:34:18 PM

sure...
alexgi writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:38:18 PM

It's a legitimate question. Now that "Justice League" has completely fallen apart, maybe it's a good idea for the character to make cameos in other films. It seems to be working for Marvel.
makingcircles writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:45:17 PM

Prevalentmind... chill out man, the webmaster is just trying to get dialogue started by asking questions related to the article. Just answer the question or don't answer the question. Don't bite the hand that feeds you
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 3:48:42 PM

Superman....sure, it could work if maybe just a cameo ala Stark appearing at the end of Incredible Hulk. Batman, definitely not..for starters it doesn't fit the tone of Nolan's films and second, as PrevalentMind said, it reduces Batman to a gimmick which would only take away from the brilliance of the prior films. I can't see Nolan (or Bale for that matter) doing much in the way of Batman past a third movie so maybe in the futire they can ease Batman into the rest of the DCU continuity in a stand alone capacity (ie. independent of the Nolan films) but as for right now they need to leave Batman out of any spin off DCU films.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 4:01:02 PM

I don't need to chill out- I just like being theatrically sarcastic on a theatrical film website...we're all characters here folks...remember it's all entertainment...
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 4:43:52 PM

Get back on the meds, prevalent mind..... asnd yes, tom welling would kick ass in a cameo role
palletboy writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 6:40:40 PM

they need to concentrate on the superman sequel and not worry about any cameos in other films,god knows they have there work cut out for them after the first one!
Horatiohornblower writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 7:17:19 PM

They would be smart to include Tom Welling in another capacity, hes done an amazing job as Clark Kent (8 Seasons!?) and has a cult following already. I dont even understand the studios hesitating to put him in the Superman reboot---heck the Smallville fans have a bloodlust for him going to the next level. Talk about a built-in audience, then just pair it with a story general audiences could get into. It would be alot bigger and have ALOT more hype than ANYone else as Superman.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 10:43:00 PM

Superman maybe, but Chris Nolans Batman...NO WAY IN HELL! Won't work at, and i doubt Bale will even agree to it!
Blank x2 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 1:28:49 AM

It might be cool, as long as they don't switch actors with every movie. If you can't get Bale or Routh, don't replace them. It's SO f*ckin' annoying.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 7:59:46 AM

I think it's working for Marvel but the DC properties are just so VASTLY different on screen. It's just too gimmicky- "LEt's do it because they're doing it" is not a good reason to crossover- it just cheapens the other films. Not to mention GL seems to be the B grade prodcution of the DC bunch- so if it's got to crossover- use the Smallville guy- don't c*ck up your main properties because "it might be cool".
Black_Jack writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 9:12:25 AM

Sooooo.....are we role-playing now? I get to be a Dark Elf Ranger! But seriously, Superman would work in GL since the characters both act on a universal scale. Batman would not. Batman rarely leaves Gotham. Unless he's chasing down mob money in Hong Kong...........
Black_Jack writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 9:13:56 AM

The Smallville guy. Now THAT would be interesting. Like Clark Kent is still in Smallville and is inspired by GL to be a superhero. That could work.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 9:14:47 AM

The problem with Welling is that the entire premise of Smallville is flawed from the start in that it HAS to be self contained lest it go against many of the premises of Clark/Superman laid out in 70 odd years of comics. I get it as an "elseworlds" sorta angle and while I find it unwatchable I can see how it has an audience in a "Buffy" kinda area. That said, transitioning a "Smallville" Superman to the big screen would just never work; better to stick with the traditional canonical events of Clark's life and maturation into the Superman identity rather than toss a teenie bopper 9no offense meant but...come on, it's Dawson's Creek) take on the character into mass circulation. Not to mention, why replace Routh? SR had it's problems to be sure but I put that more on Singer and the script. Routh very handily channeled the tone and feel of the Reeve films which were a perfect take on Clark/Supes.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 11:42:20 AM

I like having the DC properties seperate...there's something off about a world where Superman AND Batman exist in the same reality...I mean gruff voice or not- Superman panzifies Batman. Forget the DC comic world where Batman fights and magically wins against Superman (usually in eye-rolling fashion...except for Red Son)...and you can role play if you want to- I mix it up all the time between being an *sshole and acting educated... depends on how bored I am at work while these f*ckin liqour store videos render. Oooooh Smirnoff has an instore video so now every brand of f*ckin booze needs in store video...work pffffffffffft.
i3u7n5 writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 1:05:46 PM

Magically? It's called kryptonite sir and the Supes/bat showdown in Dark Knight Returns owned.
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 2:32:42 PM

I'll give ya that...but I also think they really nurse Batman into a position to be Superman's rival...that's their two biggest properties so it makes sense...but Superman when presented away from Batman is just as ingenious and intuitive as Batman...so when Bats gets the drop on him- it just seems forced. But the Dark Knight Returns fight did display some seriously cool sh*tkickery...
KaloVisor writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 4:35:39 PM

Tom welling would be awesome!
Kal-El writes:
on December 3rd, 2008 at 5:01:48 PM

i think a Superman cameo would be great, especially if it was not on Earth. like what if they just pass each other deep space, stop for a moment, have a little awkward chit-chat and then move on? i like the Marvel cameos. the galaxy would be a small place for heroes like GL and Supes.
seveltoto writes:
on November 14th, 2017 at 11:23:03 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved