WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Producer Wants "X-Files 3" to Focus on Alien Colonization

Posted: November 28th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Producer Wants "X-Files 3" to Focus on Alien ColonizationSubmit Comment
"X-Files" producer Frank Spotnitz is pretty disappointed with the box office numbers of "X-Files: I Want to Believe," but is still eager to get another sequel into development.

"I think there very well could be more in the future," he told Bloody-Disgusting. "The studio has not indicated another one yet, but there certainly is an audience for it. I think what happened this past summer was a function of bad luck and bad timing with the release. These movies cost a lot of money, not just to make but to market them as well. When the studio looks at the sales of the DVD that's when they will really decide to see if its worth risking. There is still a lot of love with 20th Century Fox, as well as with the fans."

Spotnitz also revealed that he'd like the story of the new sequel to revolve around "Alien Colonization." "If we were to do one more movie, I think it pretty obviously would have to deal with Alien Colonization." he said. "In the series we say its coming in 2012, I honestly think that that is the movie that the fans are most eager to see. Hat would be the one I would want to make. For me I think its pretty integral to the series to make tell that story."

He continued: "With 'I Want to Believe,' we were un-teathered by the TV show, we could tell any story we want. If you are a fan of the show, you know that about 80% of the stories do not have anything to do with aliens; they were stand alone scary stories. This movie was more about the relationship between Mulder and Scully, and not so much about the X-File."

Click here to read our "X-Files: I Want to Believe" review.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 5 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 6:12:34 PM

"Producer Wants "X-Files 3" to Focus on Alien Colonization", in a related story "Fans of X-Files want Producer to STFU and leave the franchise alone. It's too late"
meanmonkey22 writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 10:31:07 PM

When the hell will they learn. X-Files is DEAD!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 10:43:30 PM

How about focusing on Aliens, instead of Lovecraft's wannabe ?
PrevalentMind writes:
on December 1st, 2008 at 8:02:23 AM

When you release on the tail of the Dark Knight- without realizing the Dark Knight's audience is EXACTLY the audience you were after...YOU DESERVE TO BOMB....but that said, the new flick was good and I'd like to see them not taking it so safe with the story next time. Make it- we'll watch it. Just don't release it the same week as Batman.
thomas deadison writes:
on December 1st, 2008 at 10:30:29 AM

Producer Wants "X-Files 3" to Actually Be Good. Or Just Make Money.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved