WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Samuel L. Jackson Was a Victim of Racist Cops

Posted: November 27th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Samuel L. Jackson Was a Victim of Racist CopsSubmit Comment
Samuel L Jackson has revealed that playing a racist cop in "Lakeview Terrace" was easy due to personal experiences. According to Jackson, he has previously been a victim of racist police officers.

"I have been pulled over because I was black in the wrong place and my car was too nice," he explained. "I have been pulled over in Mississippi; that was frightening. But the guy was like, 'Hey Mr Jackson, sorry'."

Jackson continued: "I have been pulled out and spread out in the middle of the street and laid face down. Cops looking at me going: 'You look familiar.' And you just gotta say 'Oh, OK'. Because you don't know if he's talking about a wanted poster that he saw today or he actually saw a movie of mine and can't quite put that together."

Jackson added that he has stared down the barrel of a gun, but said all of these experiences help him as an actor. "I've had guns pulled on me. Of course I have. It's America. People pull guns on you in America. So you use all that."

Source: PA Entertainment


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 2:49:48 PM

Not withstanding Mr. Jackson varied acting ability (there is definitely a range if you consider Pulp Fiction to The Caveman's Valentine), what really gets under the skin of a pop culture and history afficiando is that this puff piece, something Variety would stick on what ? Page six ? FORGETS to mention that Jackson helped in gathering hostages during the Civil Rights Movement for the Black Power movement, to whom he was exposed empowerment, especially with guns, as noted in PARADE magazine, but he also had alcohol and (continual) cocaine addictions during the times between college plays and early 80s. Now, with that narcotics, it would highly likely that he would simply walk into a Walgreens or local drugstore and pick them up. He would have to get it from places that were subsidizing it in the " War On Drugs ". Does that devalue his reactions and impressions of having guns drawn on him by police ? No. Absolutely not. But puff pieces like this, that forcefeed PizzaHut style bits and pieces of information to the public is not only fit to stick in the Sun, the Globe or National Enquirer, but also are an insult to the reader for not giving them enough credit to still understand Mr. Jackson's side with the full story, not just a partial one.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 2:52:03 PM

Oh, and you mention they were racist cops ... but did they use any racial slurs or hog tie him ?
meanmonkey22 writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 5:35:01 PM

wow. another one screaming racist. when the f*ck will they realize its 2008!
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 5:48:16 PM

Racism doesn't just have to have a slur involved with it. Him having problems doesn't mean he's never experienced it. A lot of ppl get the treatment they deserve but unless u've really walked in a person's shoes, who's to say which is which. But don't just throw racism out the door like it's a fictional belief created to be an excuse for the problems minorities experience.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 6:46:29 PM

I'm white, and I've suffered racism from black people many, many times. When do I get space in the populist rags to scream charges of racism? Never? Oh, that's right, racism is beneficial only to black people.
Ronsauce writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 9:20:31 PM

That..and you aren't famous..? Racism is still a huge problem(not just for black people), and bitching because someone is sharing their experiences with it makes you seem indifferent to the problem.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 10:01:24 PM

So a famous black guy is given more credence when he or she cries racism? Racism matters more when is happens to a guy like Samuel L. Jackson? Right. Like I believe him. He was probably hanging with some hoods, some gangsta sc*m and in a dubious neighborhood when he got pulled over. I don't see much racism, and I'm around black people constantly. I do see blacks practicing racism, but I rarely hear a peep from a white person. Racism has becime the black persons bogeyman. Whenever something bad happens, it's racism. Whenever life throws a black guy a curve, it's racism. Cashier didn't touch a black man's hand, it's racism. Racism is to black people like Elvis sightings are to white people. Blacks see racism all over the place, even when and where it doesn't exist. That this sh*t is coming from someone who said "I was angry about the assassination, but I wasn’t shocked by it. I knew that change was going to take something different—not sit-ins, not peaceful coexistence", and hung out with Stokely Carmichael and H. Rap Brown. Jackson said "he began to feel empowered with his involvement in the movement, especially when the group [Black Panthers]began buying guns". So it surprises me little that some multi-billionaire fool like Jackson, who hung with murderers and thugs like Brown and Carmichael, who made his money off of white folks, would claim to see evil whitey behind every tree. Another Sixties Gen Hollywood Idiot who will only make the world place when he leaves it.
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 10:02:26 PM

*make the world a better place*
minkowski writes:
on November 27th, 2008 at 10:06:26 PM

Oh, and I guess white people who aren't famous don't count. We deserve any racism, right? We can only speak when he understand him, and because we aren't black and famous, we can't say anything? f*ck Jackson. He needs to shut his stupid mouth. White people made him wealthier than Midas, but he talks that trash? People like him keep the sh*t going.
Sinestro writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 1:55:59 AM

Let's be honest, Sam Jackson looks like has killed a few people. He probably hasn't, but you wouldn't know it by looking at the guy. And, Minkowski... damn, bro, you can rant!
OheRRo29 writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 9:17:33 AM

wut cop doesnt no who he is? if i was him and they said i look familiar i would say i would f*cking hope so ive been in every movie since 1986
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 6:10:47 PM

I've had cops pull harassmentsh*t with me plenty of times and I'm white. I had a cop tailgate me for MILES one time while I was out driving my 1969 camaro. He finally pulled me over and accused me of being a "rich kid" because the car was "too nice for the likes of (me)" not knowing I'd worked my ass off to pay for the car and I was anything but rich. I've had a cop pull a gun on me and point it in my face for questioning - not in an aggressive manner, rather a civil, calm and inquiring tone - a friend's blatantly wrongful arrest. People, cops or otherwise are just stupid sometimes and idiocy is colorblind.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 10:53:53 PM

And don't most cops have a procedure of asking for a driver's license and registration when dealing with traffic violations ? In doing so, they usually walk carefully to the driver's side of the vehicle, look at the driver and talk with them. If you have expired tags, weave dangerously in traffic, drink and drive or run a red light, it doesn't matter if you skin is whiter than a corpse or not, you violated the law.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved