WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
First Look at Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Walking Dead" Season 5
Jul 26th, 2014
Colin Firth Gets Physical With Mark Hamill in "Kingsman: Secret Service" Photo
Jul 26th, 2014
Quicksilver, Hawkeye and Vision in New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters
Jul 26th, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp's "Don Quixote" Film is Back On

Posted: November 26th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny DeppSubmit Comment
ContactMusic is reporting that director Terry Gilliam (Twelve Monkeys) has revealed that he plans to restart production of "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" next year. The push came after he was able to secure rights from an insurance company that paid out $15 million for the movie's troubles. Those troubles include a flash flood which destroyed several sets and an injury suffered by one of the stars which caused him to drop out.

Speaking at his own tribute by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in London, Gilliam said that he now believes that God stepped in to "save his ass" on "Don Quixote" when the storm occurred. "I was in some way relieved that it did fall apart," he said. "Because I didn't have the money to finish it. It's a good thing it went down when it did because I would have got the blame for going over budget. I think this time we will make a better film."

The movie stars Johnny Depp, which could create some problems since Disney has recently signed him for "Pirates of the Caribbean 4" and "The Lone Ranger." Back in August Gilliam stated that "When Johnny's ready, we're ready. We're just talking about dates to film. Basically it all depends on his schedule but otherwise we're set."

Do you think this film will ever make it into theaters?

Source: ContactMusic


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 4 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jack the reaper writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 11:30:13 PM

Johnny depp will be busy next year.
Javicon writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 5:58:38 AM

I really hope so... Gilliam's films have always had Quixote's soul and this should be (maybe) his final masterpiece. If not, ww'll always have "Lost in la Mancha"...
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 9:01:31 AM

Wow, this film is cursed. I hope he can handle it and it comes out. I just really hope he can tap into his good judgment and not land in the same place as the mess called Tideland. Give us more Time Bandits, The Adventure of Baron Munchausen, 12 Monkeys and or Fear and Loathing PLEASE. I'm looking forward to seeing The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 10:32:49 AM

Terry is a great filmmaker- he strives to be out of the box constantly and has some fantastic results... but I'm tired of him being a 'cult' name. He deserves more leaning power in Hollywood, so for once, just for safety's sake, insure the film's release by trying to conform JUST A LITTLE this time around. I love how he's uncompromising- but damn man- ya gotta back down from time to time so people can see the (complete) film.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved