WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp's "Don Quixote" Film is Back On

Posted: November 26th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny DeppSubmit Comment
ContactMusic is reporting that director Terry Gilliam (Twelve Monkeys) has revealed that he plans to restart production of "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" next year. The push came after he was able to secure rights from an insurance company that paid out $15 million for the movie's troubles. Those troubles include a flash flood which destroyed several sets and an injury suffered by one of the stars which caused him to drop out.

Speaking at his own tribute by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in London, Gilliam said that he now believes that God stepped in to "save his ass" on "Don Quixote" when the storm occurred. "I was in some way relieved that it did fall apart," he said. "Because I didn't have the money to finish it. It's a good thing it went down when it did because I would have got the blame for going over budget. I think this time we will make a better film."

The movie stars Johnny Depp, which could create some problems since Disney has recently signed him for "Pirates of the Caribbean 4" and "The Lone Ranger." Back in August Gilliam stated that "When Johnny's ready, we're ready. We're just talking about dates to film. Basically it all depends on his schedule but otherwise we're set."

Do you think this film will ever make it into theaters?

Source: ContactMusic


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 4 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Jack the reaper writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 11:30:13 PM

Johnny depp will be busy next year.
Javicon writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 5:58:38 AM

I really hope so... Gilliam's films have always had Quixote's soul and this should be (maybe) his final masterpiece. If not, ww'll always have "Lost in la Mancha"...
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 9:01:31 AM

Wow, this film is cursed. I hope he can handle it and it comes out. I just really hope he can tap into his good judgment and not land in the same place as the mess called Tideland. Give us more Time Bandits, The Adventure of Baron Munchausen, 12 Monkeys and or Fear and Loathing PLEASE. I'm looking forward to seeing The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus though.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 28th, 2008 at 10:32:49 AM

Terry is a great filmmaker- he strives to be out of the box constantly and has some fantastic results... but I'm tired of him being a 'cult' name. He deserves more leaning power in Hollywood, so for once, just for safety's sake, insure the film's release by trying to conform JUST A LITTLE this time around. I love how he's uncompromising- but damn man- ya gotta back down from time to time so people can see the (complete) film.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved