WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

McG Clears Up "Terminator Salvation" Rumors

Posted: November 25th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
McG Clears Up "Terminator Salvation" RumorsSubmit Comment
TotalFilm had a chance to chat with "Terminator Salvation" director McG to clear up some rumors that have been floating around the internet. Below are the rumors and McG's answers.

Rumor: The ending posted on AICN claimed that the climax would see John Connor die, only to be resurrected as a robot.
McG: "That is not the ending. John Connor is not the machine. We did discuss that idea, but that is not the ending, I can say that right now."

Rumor: James Cameron did not give McG his blessing.
McG: "I did go to see James Cameron. He didn't give us his blessing, but he didn't sh*t all over our movie. When Jim was making 'Alien,' he was following the great Ridley Scott, so he knows how we feel."

Rumor: Christian Bale had doubts about signing up
McG: "I met Christian when he was shooting 'The Dark Knight.' He told me to f*ck right off, he didn't want to do it. He said, 'Write it so that it could be read cold on stage and I'll think about doing it.'"

Rumor: Arnold Schwarzenegger will appear in the movie.
McG: "We're trying to synthesise a human character with a CGI character and that may or may not have something to do with the T800."

Click here to read more about "Terminator Salvation."

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 12:42:54 AM

I didn't care much for the whole "John Connor is a robot" subplot when I was informed about it a few months ago. Now that the rumor has been crushed, I have a renewed interest in the project. It kinda scares me that McG is directing this thing, but with badass special effects and the impeccable acting talent of Christian Bale, this could possibly be a triumph.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 3:53:47 AM

Cameron rarely criticizes a film in the publics eye. He has too much class and ethic than to lower himself to the mean level of a Bay-type director. He didn't even criticize AvP, an abomination of a film that inverts Cameron's cool logic into the eye-rolling nether lands of absurdity. Regarding the movie, T:S looks like little more than big-budget action draped in the worn cloth of military sci-fi. yawn. Studios are greedy. They love to exploit for shock and awe areas of an idea. Places and concepts, handled by skilled cinematic artist, are typically left to the imagination Painfully to the contrary, money-hungry studios run roughshod with the most calloused abandon.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 8:25:12 AM

Cameron does slam movies- he just has a great and swarmy *sshole way about it...Like when T3 came out he said, "It has spunk...(raised eyebrow) too much spunk." He does have a classy way about but that just because there's very few filmmakers who can compare to him so he acts like his sh*t don't stink...and knowing his ambitious nature - it probably doesnt.
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 9:15:24 AM

My fingers are crossed.
jonplayer88 writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 12:03:54 PM

Im glad that the Connor is a robot idea has gone! Remarks like that from Bale give me hope for the film, can anyone name a sh*t film that Bale has been in???And it shows that MCG has put real effort into the script. Im a huge arnold fan but putting him as an unconvincing half CGI half human charachter that doesnt work would be an insult. Hardcore terminator fans remember that he is not the only T800, he's just the model 101 from that series. We also saw another model T800 in the first film in the form of Franco Columbu
Blank x2 writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 1:08:48 PM

A sh*t film that Christian Bale was in? How about the "Shaft" remake? What do I win?
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 4:00:44 PM

Supposedly raising an eyebrow isn't slamming a film. It means "I'd like to give my opinion, I'm dying to give my opinion, but I'm not going to because that's rude and inappropriate.". Like I said, Cameron doesn't trash other people's movies. He never has. Not even when he was young and working on crap like Pirahnas 2. In a world of raving psychotics, he's a world class act. I've never seen him act 'smarmy', and all of his commentaries never betray a seeting arrogance. He's hard to work with, but only because he demands excellence and strict adherence to an idea. That's art. And you shouldn't spend so much time disagreeing with me PrevalentMind as it really only underlines your ignorance. :)
Wolfhart writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 7:32:41 PM

I would not consider "Shaft" a "sh*t movie." With a $44MM budget, it raked in $21.7MM in its opening weekend (#1), $70.3MM domestically, and $103MM worldwide. That's pretty impressive for a so-called "sh*t movie." Who can refute the box office appeal of the great Samuel L. Jackson; he is the second highest grossing actor of all time (behind voice actor Frank Welker). The Guiness Book of World Records recognizes him as number one with $7.42B in 68 films... and he's got "The Spirit," "Iron Man 2," "The Avengers," and "Inglorious Bastards" coming soon. Christian Bale is highly talented and under-rated and I've enjoyed every movie he has been in. However, I wouldn't consider his comments, "write it so it can be read cold" as evidence of impeccabilty. I applaud well-writen screenplays that transfer into cinematic spectacles, but their nature is inherently different from traditional novels where the readers' imagination brings the text to life. Actors are responsible for interpreting the script and portraying the story through dialog and action. It takes a skilled actor to bring a great screenplay to life. Otherwise, it would simply be a pile of paper. Likewise, any craft or skill takes continuous training and practice to master, and every project is unique. Bale's comment (if legitimate verbatim) shows how little effort he wants to put into his role, which is unfortunate considering how much respect I have for him. Perhaps James Cameron keeps his mouth shut because he understands he doesn't have much to be arrogant about. He really only has "The Abyss," the "Terminator" franchise, and "Titanic" to claim as his own, and if you ask me, "T:SCC" and "T:S" are doing more justice to the story than "T", "T2:JD", and "T3:RM" ever did. "Dark Angel" must not have been all that great if Vince McMahon was able to shut it down. We'll have to wait and see if "Avatar" is worth the title war. "Battle Angel" is mearly the product of Hollywood's sudden interest in Asian manga and anime. "True Lies" was great, but it wasn't his idea. He had about as much to with "Rambo: First Blood Part II" as he did with "Aliens," which really wasn't much when you consider Hollywood's lack of respect of writers, and he was using someone else's characters. I wouldn't call "Strange Days" a good idea and we'll chalk "Xenogenesis" up as a rookie starting gig. He was also fired, twice, from "Piranha II: The Spawning." James Cameron is not "smarmy." "Smary" is not the same as "arrogant," nor are they the same as "pretentious." Paris Hilton is the epitome of smarmy. Uwe Boll is pretentious. Michael Bay may be (probably is) arrogant. James Cameron is certainly not any of these. Don't get me wrong: I respect James Cameron. He is a triple threat writer/director/producer that creates truly unique products. I admire anyone who strives for perfection and demands the best out of everyone. But I'd still take Steven Speilberg over him any day. The "Alien" franchise is really no one's baby. Ridley Scott did well to get it started, but James Cameron, David Fincher, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Paul W.S. Anderson, and the Brothers Strause (as well as a plethora of writers) all had their hands in that cookie jar. Was "AvP" all that bad? Okay, so I guess it was. "AvP:R" was an abomination... and FOX has "AvP3" in their future lineup! Don't be too quick to slam Michael Bay - he at very least can back up his arrogance with box office success by helming 11 blockbusters and 3 future blockbusters. Not bad for someone whose directorial debut was a Playboy video. If you want to slam anybody, slam Uwe Boll. What has he contributed to society? He's an ass without the success. BTW: Everyone's sh*t stinks. No one here knows what happens behind Hollywood's closed doors. We are all ignorant in that regard. To be that successful, one has to be an ass from time to time. It's too easy to be an arm-chair quarterback, but that doesn't stop everybody from being a critic.
manichispanic writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 8:23:07 PM

making a lot of money doesn't make a movie good. in the music industry there's tons of multi-platinum bands that blow donkey balls. same for movies.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 9:17:36 PM

"I applaud well-writen screenplays that transfer into cinematic spectacles, but their nature is inherently different from traditional novels where the readers' imagination brings the text to life." True. Screenplays are little more than recipes. Screenplays give the actors comparatively strict film direction. Books, by their far more grand but visually ambiguous nature allow the reader more freedom of interpretation."It takes a skilled actor to bring a great screenplay to life.". . .and a director and quality, skilled gaffers, composers, animators, compositors, editors. . ."Otherwise, it would simply be a pile of paper. Likewise, any craft or skill takes continuous training and practice to master, and every project is unique." king of the obvious, are you?"I applaud well-writen screenplays that transfer into cinematic spectacles" Sure, but I applaud more the poor screenplay that succeeds brilliantly through the deft and competant combination of a great director and a great cast."Perhaps James Cameron keeps his mouth shut because he understands he doesn't have much to be arrogant about." Cameron keeps his mouth closed because, as in anything he does, he practices discipline. Cameron has plenty to find pride in. Every movie he has made became a success, and one the highest grossing film of all time. Bay merely gets more work, pushing derivative sh*t that looks like all his other films. Cameron makes billions selectively choosing a film for production. Cameron is an artist masterfully painting one canvas at a time, Bay is an assembly line for crude pop-culture popcornball entertainment. Cameron is the milestone of success, Bay but a footnote for his litany of disposable films."if you ask me, "T:SCC" and "T:S" are doing more justice to the story than "T", "T2:JD", and "T3:RM" ever did." Only the first two films are Cameron's. TSCC is laughably bad garbage for the idiot drone WB crowd. I have't watched a worse 'serious' show since the original Knight Rider. Bad, bad bad. And Terminator:Salvation is shaping up into a visual flick, not one that is carried on the merits of intelligent interpersonal conversation or depth of characters, looking to lack much if not all the heart of the first two films.""Dark Angel" must not have been all that great if Vince McMahon was able to shut it down." cameron is merely one of the creators and one of many writers. He didn't direct any eps. Furthermore, the show enjoyed 42 episodes. Not bad. And launched Alba's career. For a how that had little to do with Cameron directly, DA was a successful failure.""Battle Angel" is mearly the product of Hollywood's sudden interest in Asian manga and anime." A movie he didn't actually make, but expressed interest in LONG before the general populace. Cameron has a natural interest in manga and anime. It has nothing to with trends in Hollywood, save for the willingness to dispense with corporate funds.""True Lies" was great, but it wasn't his idea." So what? Bay writes every script he films? Does Bay write ANYTHING?? He only films, and much of that is loud explosions and camera rotations. Cameron, good friend to Arnold, decided to make his script pick into a film, and ONLY Cameron could have made such a fantastic action flick. Even Bay, in an area where he naturally excels, couldn't have equaled or exceeded Cameron's efforts. "He had about as much to with "Rambo: First Blood Part II" as he did with "Aliens," Again, though he didn't create the aliens or the main character, everything else was his to hone into a wonderful product. His Rambo script was never filmed AFAIK. So the comparisons end after noting the obvious: Cameron did not create either film's main characters or world setting. And had Cameron made Rambo, I'm sure the extant second film wouldn't stink as bad. Neither would Spiderman I. What did Bay ever create, per se? Nothing. Not even the ugly robots in his laughably slapstick-bad 2007 film Transformers, the rare case where a cartoon greatly exceeds it's live-action counterpart. The Rock was Bay's last good film. Probably his first. OTOH, Cameron has made one hit after another. It's like saying Van Gogh wasn't creative because his paintings contain suns he didn't invent. Moron." I wouldn't call "Strange Days" a good idea" Not really his film. He came up with the STORY, and wrote part of the screenplay, but Bigelow f*cked it up, as she is wont to do. Blue Steel anyone? Awful f*cking movie. Strange Days would suck as hard Blue Steel had Cameron NOT written the story. Bigelow also wrote BS, a testament to how deeply she sucks."we'll chalk "Xenogenesis" up as a rookie starting gig." I'd dare you to do better than XG on your first gig. I saw it and was impressed. Pretty damned good IMO."He was also fired, twice, from "Piranha II: The Spawning." I'll let IMDb do the talking here: "Credit for directing this film was given to James Cameron. Most of the work was actually performed by Ovidio G. Assonitis, the film's producer and prolific film-maker. Assonitis was dissatisfied with Cameron's progress after the first week and took over. According to "Dreaming Aloud," a biography of James Cameron by Christopher Heard, Cameron did do the shooting for this movie, but was not allowed to see his footage and was not involved in editing. He broke into the editing room and cut his own version, but was caught and Assonitis re-cut it again." He was fired, yes, as anyone can get sh*tcanned, but Assonitis carries the blame for making this bomb. He wanted his film a particular way, and had Assonitis let Cameron continue, Piranha might have suceeded."But I'd still take Steven Speilberg over him any day." Ughhh. Almost Steven has done in the l ast fifteen years reeks of downbeat themes, dispair and negativity. Spielberg is the Jimmy carter of filmmaking, and Cameron is its Reagan. "but James Cameron, David Fincher, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Paul W.S. Anderson, and the Brothers Strause (as well as a plethora of writers) all had their hands in that cookie jar.' yes, and Cameron arguably crated the most entertaining film of the entire series. He certainly took the Aliens and Ripley to far greater heights than did Ridley. "Don't be too quick to slam Michael Bay - he at very least can back up his arrogance with box office success by helming 11 blockbusters and 3 future blockbusters." Bay makes films according to the blockbuster FORMULA. He risks NOTHING. And who made 2 BILLION worldwide on ONE film? Not Bay. And the only two conditions that guarantee Bay's success is scripts, not written by Bay, using the BLOCKBUSTER formula, and the release dates execs set. Bay is a genuine tool of the industry. "Not bad for someone whose directorial debut was a Playboy video." Bay is to this day making music videos, just now they're nearly two hours in length.
minkowski writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 9:43:03 PM

"making a lot of money doesn't make a movie good. in the music industry there's tons of multi-platinum bands that blow donkey balls. same for movies." damn straight, and people that suck on Bay's trumpet need to understand this fact.
Wolfhart writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 2:03:13 AM

Thank you for your response. Please allow me to retort. Clearly, you have an extreme bias for James Cameron. I was actually trying to objectively defend him, while rationally defining foreseeable counter-arguments. What I did not consider is the obvious subjective man-crushing that is being displayed. Are you in fact James Cameron, hiding behind an ambiguous pseudonym? Studies show that those who use absolutes (ie. always, never, every, all, none, etc.) are either lying or don't know the truth. Every movie James Cameron has been involved in was NOT a success. James Cameron makes "billions?" Really? He only earned $115MM for "Titanic," most of it coming after the film's box office success. He doesn't make any of Forbes' lists of affluence, influence, and power... not even in 1998 (following "Titanic"). Steven Spielberg and George Lucas make the top 100. "Avatar" will mark Cameron's first feature since "Titanic," 12 years later. "Battle Angel" is currently in production with a 2011 release, and James Cameron is writing, directing, and producing. I figured with the "ski" suffix that you'd be a fan of Steven Spielberg. After all, it was George Lucas' and Steven Spielberg's "Star Wars" that got Cameron to quit truck driving and into the film industry. James Cameron won three much-deserved Oscars for one film and no other nominations. Steven Spielberg won 3 Oscars and 6 nominations for 8 different films. How does that even compare? How can hold more value in Cameron's four films in the past 24 years (1984's "The Terminator"), to Spielberg having over 50 notable films in 34 years (1974's "Jaws", "The Sugarland Express")? And "The Terminator" and "Titanic" do not feature downbeat themes? A franchise surrounding the imminent extermination of the human race by machines, and a movie involving the single greatest peacetime maritime tragedy in history and the deaths of 1,500 passengers. I suppose if James Cameron made a film about the WTC attacks, you'd claim that it instilled a sense of hope and charity in you. "Titanic" made $1.8B worldwide, you're off by $200MM, exactly how much the [over] budget the production was. Steven Spielberg's "Jurassic Park" made $920MM worldwide on a meager $60MM budget. Far better money management and 5 years sooner. Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" is still making money to date and has a real chance to top "Titanic" [at least domestically]. I never said that Michael Bay was a great director, and I know he doesn't write. What I stated was that he is successful. The "formula" is a myth. That statement shows your ignorance. Yes, I will agree that his cannon is redundant. I'm sorry that your tastes are so narrow that you are unable to find value in anything other than James Cameron. Movies are entertainment, plain and simple. Most people don't even attribute very much importance to them in the big picture of Life. Movies rank lower than music, hobbies, bedroom activities, sports, clothes, food, and barely above TV and books. If want to envoke meaning in film, rent a doc*mentary... James Cameron made 9 of them. Speaking of television, the WB no longer exists for three years now. "T:SCC" is on FOX, and I am aware of their track record for broadcasting fodder. You should be familiar since FOX also canceled "Dark Angel" after only 2 seasons. Cameron wrote the pilot and the finale. And what a career Jessica Alba has had, all the respectable work she has done. I will recognize that you had one good point, albeit skewed. A great film has a great crew, and every contractor is integral to the finished product. I find it interesting that you would mention animators and compositors as if they needed in every film. I would think a connoisseur of cinematic art would appreciate films that don't require CGI and special effects. You know, films that rely on a great writing, great acting, great direction. And why isn't cinematographer/DOP in that list? I would think that's one of the most important roles, after all they're the ones that the gaffers report to. And what about the production designers? The sound designers? The grips?! The PA's?! Catering?!?!
Wolfhart writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 2:28:24 AM

Psychological research has shown that people's music preferences are far more specific and narrowed than that of movie preferences. Music appeals to different centers of the brain, and our preferences are affected by social identity, personality and behaviors, and physiological response. People can be separated into 8 different personality dimensions and will show favoritism to typically only 1 of 14 basic music genres, and prejudice toward the rest. Movies, however, are not as specialized. People from many, and sometimes all personality dimensions, will enjoy several movies from the same genre, and will not show prejudice for other genres. That's because people's movie preferences are much more generalized and are only affected by mood and appeal. This can be seen in demographic research. So your subjective rationale about successful equine-fellating musicians is inaccurate. First, I challenge you to identify said "multi-platinum" musicians. Second, I ask that you take Business 101 and learn that revenue and unit sales statistics are very accurate indicators of positive market appeal. The two industries are not the same.
Wolfhart writes:
on November 26th, 2008 at 2:31:16 AM

Sometimes the obvious must be stated when dealing with the oblivious.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved