WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Pushing Heath Ledger for Best Actor

Posted: November 23rd, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Pushing Heath Ledger for Best ActorSubmit Comment
Oscar season is approaching and Warner Bros is wasting no time in pushing for Heath Ledger to win the award for Best Supporting Actor for "The Dark Knight." The studio has been putting out their "For Your Consideration" ads featuring a shot of Ledger as The Joker. Check out the two ads by clicking on the pictures below. [via FirstShowing]

In addition to running their ad on the cover of Variety, the studio also bought two full page ads in the magazine, one for Ledger and one for "The Dark Knight" to win Best Picture.

If you want to see every award that Warner Bros is hoping "The Dark Knight" will win, visit the studio's "For Your Consideration" website, which contains all the info.

Other possible contenders for Best Supporting actor are Brad Pitt (Burn After Reading), Robert Downey Jr (Tropic Thunder) and Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt).

Do you think Heath Ledger should win the award?

For Your Consideration Ads: (click to enlarge)




Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LonnyManCan writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 6:00:55 PM

hell yes
meanmonkey22 writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 6:26:23 PM

If he doesn't win I will never forgive the Academy. Heath Ledger Best Supporting Actor, Brad Pitt Best Actor!
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 6:59:25 PM

He's gotta be a lock
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 7:11:56 PM

hell YA!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 8:11:20 PM

Yeah he shoudl ge teh BEst supporting actor. Hope people understand why he can't get Best Actor
Mr.Purple writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 9:16:21 PM

Pitt, Downey Jr, and Ledger... i'd be happy with any of 'em. those were my 3 favorite performances of the summer.
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 9:55:38 PM

sorry dudes,Robert downey jr should be the one to win if he gets nominated,If Jack did get nominated for being the Joker, Heath shouldnt even win,plus a dead guy cant receive an oscar, so give the oscar to Rdj p.s. f*ck Heath Ledger
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 10:12:07 PM

Heath Ledger is so damned over rated. If the guy hadn't offed himself, Dark Knight wouldn't have soared. There's so many things wrong with DK, and I'm a DC fanatic. I can't stand Marvel, but Iron Man was a far more cleanly executed film, and Downey's performance was top-notch. Ledger couldn't even get the Joker right, and instead turned the character into a thoughtless fanatic in clownish clothing. And I'm no Burton fan either. Ledger tried and tried, getting by on supporting character roles and his accent, but only death gave him the fame others have to work for.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 11:11:08 PM

ay MINKOWSKI..you a lame 4 not liking marvel, marvel way better than dc, an stop naggin like a pregnant girl
minkowski writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 11:17:02 PM

Marvel is for pussies, guys on the rag like you and fifth-grade dropout dumbsh*ts like yourself. Don't blame me for your f*cked up illiterate posts, blame your parent and the inner city school systems. And the last pregnant girl I f*cked was five years ago, right after you were born. :)
Sinestro writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 11:24:40 PM

He should be nominated. Definitely. Not sure about a win, though. I don't understand why this is news or surprising, this was a long time coming. And to that one poster, if you were gonna get on here and talk sh*t under the name of the mighty Kirk Lazarus, you could have at least spelled the name right, *sshole!
vaodsi writes:
on November 23rd, 2008 at 11:51:44 PM

wow.... the downside of freedom of speech.....Thank god for freedom of speech... but do you have to be an insensitive *sshole? sad. R.I.P. HEATH.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:43:13 AM

There is no downside to freedom of speech. As Voltaire said "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:45:14 AM

P.S. It isn't like Heath can hear you. He's dead, no heaven, no afterlife. Just worms.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:55:11 AM

Jeezus, if it will shut you marvel nuts up, Let RDJ get eh Best actor, but heath shoudl ge tthe Best Supporting Actor, since the Joker was a god dam supporting character. And yes you can win Oscars post death, it happened at least twice since the oscars have been going.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:57:51 AM

Ps Kirk Lazarusa was f*cking funny as all hell, but do you really think the acadamy will give him an oscar for that role, i hear his role in the Soloist is amazing, maybe you shoudl see that first and then we can talk if RDJ can rightfully claim a Best Actor nod
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 9:59:55 AM

It's common knowledge that the Acadamy gives an Oscar the most controversial and "edgy" roles. Plus, there is a lot of favoritism towards previous winners. As much as I would like Heath to win, I'd say your best bet is gonna be Seymour-Hoffman. He's won previously for "Capote" and now he's in a "highly controversial" film about a priest accused of child molestation. Previous wins and controversy: two things the Acadamy awards. All I can say is I honestly can't see why RDJ is bieng nominated for "Tropic Thunder." Yeah, he was funny as hell, but it's not Oscar material. If you wanna nominate him, do it for "The Soloist." Anyhow, I'm still hoping that Heath Ledger gets SOMETHING. Oscar, Golden Globe, SAG Award, anything! Lol
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 10:05:42 AM

Oh, and to minkowski: Oooh, you can quote Voltaire--big deal, grow a brain stem and think of an original quote to defend yourself with.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 10:21:54 AM

... i will fight to the death for freedom of speech... it's just sad that people like you exist to abuse it.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 10:22:22 AM

Ladyhornet... i love you.
OheRRo29 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 10:27:39 AM

robert downey jr was funny but his acting wasnt better then ledgers..he owned that movie his acting was 2 good he played the joker to the T and dont compare him to jack nicelsons he looked like a gay pimp with a white face and if anyone knew anything about the joker you would see that he deserves it and since "he cant win the award cuz hes dead" ill tell them to send it to you and you can f*ck yourself with it while you watch tropic thunder
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 11:21:56 AM

ha lazerus is my real last name dumbsh*t so take that sinestro
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 11:29:36 AM

sinestro i was kidding,it said the name was taken,so go f*ck yourself hahah jk anyway, its bull jack did a better job as the joker,come on he had a big ass gun during the parade scene,Rdj was way better i really thought he was black,plus he cant get nominated for The Soloist since its not coming out until next year,rdj wins best supporting actor heath wins best looking grave there now everyone can be happy, p.s.- heath is only famous cause hes dead,i guess no one saw casanova or a knights tale
The One 17 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 11:30:22 AM

tsk, tsk, such immaturity.... stupid Americans....
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 11:44:56 AM

Oh screw you The One 17. Everyone (no matter what country you happen to be from) get into arguments. So pull your head out of your self-righteous ass and grow up you prig. And if you're going to comment, at least contribute to the conversation at hand. *sshole.
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:08:42 PM

Heath was already famous AND already nominated for an oscar. did you live in a cave in 2005?
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:33:48 PM

Tropic Thunder was a horrible movie and while I love RDj, there's no comparison between Ledger's performance (he totally disappeared into the character) and a throwaway comedy, and I use that term loosely. I laughed maybe once, most of the time it was squirming in my seat wishing TR would end. And good tosee the discourse is becoming that akin to aint it cool new, talk back. no real rissertation just "fuk you, fuk dat, fuk off.." and other compelling discussion.
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 12:42:59 PM

"tsk, tsk, such immaturity.... stupid Americans...." Seriously...that's what you're going with?
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 1:41:21 PM

Since when did popcorn movies win Best Picture Oscars? RDJ nominated for best supporting actor for a comedic role? WTF?!?!?!? Jim Carrey should run into the Academy's halls with an AK-47 if they allow that crap. All of a sudden our movies are so bottom barrelled our summer blockbuster entertainment can actually have a chance to win best picture...man...the movie 'Idiocracy' was only pretending to be about the future: next year "Ow My Balls" and "ASS" for best picture!
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 4:54:22 PM

"i will fight to the death for freedom of speech... it's just sad that people like you exist to abuse it. " You're an idiot. The concept of free speech exists ONLY for unpopular speech. What school did you attend? Che Guevara High? Brainwashed by liberal elites into believing free speech is fine unless what's said is undesirable would be my guess as to the slant of your screwed up perspective. The founders of the American Bill of Rights knew exactly what they were doing, which is why 'abuse' of free speech doesn't exist except in the minds of little infant fascists such as you. And to ladyhornet, please don't try to speak. Only brainless f*cking morons, staring off into the vacuum of the box of their TV consider Oscar history common knowledge. Thoughtful people enjoy more rewarding activities, like reading 'Voltaire' or the even the f*cking comics. lol Bet you went to see Twilight, right? Stupid American twat.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 5:02:22 PM

PrevalentMind: Summer blockbusters and 'best picture' are not mutually exclusive concepts. Oh, LadyHo: Deriving an 'orginal' quote when a perfect historical quote exists is available very much like bitching that someone doesn't reinvent pizza rather than ordering DiGiorno's. Are you really as f*cking stupid, unimaginative and thoughtless as you sound? Nah. And the brain stem comment. . .wow. Either you're about fifteen in age, or you failed every biology glass you ever attended. Or you're a f*cking training-bra wearing c*nt. I'll guess 'all of the above'. lol.
minkowski writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 5:16:57 PM

"And good tosee the discourse is becoming that akin to aint it cool new, talk back. no real rissertation just "fuk you, fuk dat, fuk off.." and other compelling discussion." Did you mean 'dissertaion', or discussion' or even rotisserie? I mean, WTF? Like Heath Ledger disserves more than gossip column gabbing and glowing praise from frigid, ugly women. He received a nomination in 2005? Who HASN'T received a nomination? Geez. Have you seen some of the stinkers to receive best picture nomination? A film about urinating on the letter 'W' would get an Oscar nod. Heath was mediocre. Dull and not all that much of a leading man. A knight's Tale was dull and contrived, Heath leading the film by accent alone. His 2005 nom or win or whatever was for BrokeBack Mountain, 'daring' look into homosexual lovers or something like that. Gee, what a surprise. The All-Star Bleeding Heart Choir in Hollywood gave him kudos for playing the role of one of their most cherished 'victims' groups. End sarcasm. When Hollywood liberals, drowning in all their money, luxury and fame, can't find the minuscule time to pine for the downtrodden, then and only then will you surely know your economy is tanking. Before BBM, Heath was virtually ignored. Not like he could get by on his pedestrian looks and off-beat roles. I'd rather an Oscar go to Joseph Gordon-Levitt for 'Brick' or some other sh*t. Note to struggling actors: want recognition? Play a gay man. Or even better, for black women, take on the role of a handicapped, lesbian, disenfranchised 'African-American' hero. You'll have the cinematic crowd and boobtube sycophants supplicating devoutly at your angles for a decade.
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 5:37:40 PM

minkowski you're one funny mothaf*cka,people just nominate the character they play and not there acting capabilities,Brick was the sh*t and joseph gordon levitt was better than Heath in 10 things i hate about you haha damn Heath isnt that great and if Heath didn't die i dont think he would have been praised this much for playing the joker
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 7:31:26 PM

A few points for minkowski... No, I did not go see Twilight. It's absolute dreck... Keep in mind dear, that YOU ARE ARGUING AND INSULTING PEOPLE ONLINE. You have never met, nor have you carried on a conversation with any of these people and yet you are insulting and berating them for a comment they made ON AN ARTICLE. What's the point? What are you gaining out of doing it? Who are you exerting your "intelligence" and "wit" to, except for yourself? Hmm? No one. So why even do it? Also, just because you have a large vocabulary it DOES NOT mean that you are intelligent. By any means. It just means that you can string some big words together. Congratulations. Finally, yes the Voltaire quote is a good one to use when talking about free speech but if you are as well-read and cultured as you make yourself out to be then you would know that there are several others that are just as good. A perfect example for you, "If liberty means anything, it means the right to tell people what they do no want to hear." George Orwell. I guess my main point is that everybody has different opinions that don't need to be insulted by you. Yes, you may be a highly-intelligent bieng, but please man, must you INSULT EVERYONE? I mean, really--lighten up, honey! It's just a comment column on an entertainment site. Its not anything critical. Just people's opinions. And not all of those opinions need critism from you. So no hard feeling minkowski, just do me a favor and lighten up! Lol
vaodsi writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 8:33:50 PM

i agree minkowski.... there is nothing wring with freedom of speech... there is just something wrong with you.
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 24th, 2008 at 9:58:31 PM

ladyhornet_05 you're funny too hahaaha,Rdj thats the winner hahaha
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 1:17:06 AM

Ok RDJ is a great actor, but common do you honestly believe his performance as Kirk Lazarus is better than Heath's in TDK? And RDJ role was a main role, thus he coudl win Best Actor, Ledgers role as the Joker was a supporting role, he will be up for a supporting actor nomination, not best actor.!
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 8:38:26 AM

Look all I am merely pointing out to the Mr Bill of Rights On Crack is that The Dark knight may have had a good theme- but its the wrong type of film to get that point across. They weren't trying to develop themes with the Dark Knight- they're trying to revive a franchise and that was their motivation: to make a good film- but seriously ANY film dramatic or popcorn flick that has a character as rushed and hurried as Harvey/Two Face nominated for best picture is A SHAM and clearly shows our generations dumbing down. Add the fact the title character doesnt deliver or act his lines: he pounds us with them. And in the case of RDJ- it would be a crime to both Heath Ledger AND JIm Carrey if the academy allowed that win when Heath was more layered while Carrey was just clearly deserving for Man on the Moon and the Truman Show.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 8:41:25 AM

You can't just screw over great actors for 70 years and suddenly the Dark Knight enters the best picture category and comedic performances are fair game to win a statue...it'll be a tasteless new height for hypocrisy and political hand jobbing.
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 11:33:43 AM

they are trying to push him as supporting actor he probably wont get nominated to best actor,Rdj performance and acting were better than Heath,just cause he played the joker everybodys on his jock,plus people should get nominated for how good they were in the movie and not who they portrayed in the film,if someone was the sh*t in a comedy movie,they should get nominated,come on casey affleck was nominated for god sakes and he blows ass,rdj owned the character and did a dope job,if the cohen brothers won for country even though There Will be blood is way better,plus is brad pitt gets nominated isnt burn after reading a comedy film?,people should win by how good they were and not who they played,Jim carrey in Man On The Moon was bad ass Andy Kaufman is a bad motha,but Jim carrey sucks now
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 2:04:02 PM

Yeah- I agree with you man- BUT we just went through 75+ years of Oscar where it was all about DRAMATIC performances...Allowing comedy into the mix ruins all of the Academy's credibility. Hundreds of AMAZING comedic performances have been panned by the Academy over the years it would be a crime to suddenly turn the page now. Ledger wins the Oscar and RDJ goes to the MTV and People's Choice Awards like everyone else who has a kickass comedy performance. Now is not the time for Oscar to have an identity crisis.
Dinka writes:
on November 25th, 2008 at 3:25:30 PM

I wasn't particularly impressed with the film as a "superhero movie," but I enjoyed it for its artistic and entertainment value. I think Ledger brought a lot to the character. BATMAN is my favorite comic series - I or any comic geek will tell you that the character of the Joker is always different depending on the writer or media. You can't tell me that Jack Nicholson's portrayal was the same as the Joker from the animated series. Or that the current comic book incarnation of the Joker is the same as either of those. Ledger discussed, created, and gave a different approach. That's all...so don't get your geekly comic book panties in a bunch about him not being "true" to the character.
whoever writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 8:45:00 AM

Minkowski, for all your grand standing your first post was wrong. You stated "If the guy hadn't offed himself", well he didn't, he was taking medication that were prescribed by his doctors. His doctors should be held accountable for not finding what other medication Heath was taking.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved