WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Talks "Old Boy" Remake

Posted: November 21st, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Talks "Old Boy" RemakeSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Steven Spielberg is working out a deal with Will Smith to star in a remake of "Old Boy," which Mark Protosevich (I Am Legend) will write. But with so such big names attached to redo such a great property, there are many questions on fans' minds.

FilmSchoolRejects attended the "Seven Pounds" premiere, where they had the chance to ask Smith a few questions about the "Old Boy" remake, which Smith says will not be a remake since it is not an adaptation of Chan-wook Park's 2003 film.

"We're looking at that right now," said Smith. "Not the film though, it's the original source material. There's the original comics of 'Oldboy' that they made the first film from. And that's what we're working from, not an adaptation of the film."

Judging by that, it seems that Spielberg never bothered to acquire rights to the film, but focused more on the "Oldboy" graphic novel. This means that the 2003 movie that so many love will be left alone.

Are you glad that Spielberg is not remaking the film?

Source: FilmSchool Rejects


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
killpetty writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 1:03:08 PM

I wonder how mainstream American audiences will respond to the ending. But I don't know how the comic ends. Is it the same as the movie?
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 2:41:27 PM

I know I am, because it wouldn't work and I personally wasn't feeling the 2003 film. Maybe it just didn't, for the first time for me, translate well in my opinion.
rar0406 writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 3:04:26 PM

long as i dont see aliens at the end, sure.
kidmerchantfourth5665 writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 3:39:13 PM

better known i guess, but keep speilberg and smith on the project, that will make it the best!
Schwasted writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 3:57:29 PM

If Will Smith is involved you can count me out. I Robot, I Am Legend, Hanc*ck, they are all the same. No matter how they twist it, it's a remake. But if it starred and unknown it could be interesting.
SeWerin writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 4:07:12 PM

I heard that ending of Oldboy comic is very different then the one in movie. Comic version is less brutal and it as somewhat happier ending - that is what i heard
thedotsays writes:
on November 21st, 2008 at 4:21:39 PM

As long as they don't pull the same crap that was done with Hanc*ck, I'll be fine.
Kenchuman writes:
on November 22nd, 2008 at 7:42:58 AM

I'm still skeptical about this. On the one hand, I am incredibly great full that Spielberg wont mess up another classic film. Yet, it would have been fun to see audience members squirm in their seats as Smith cuts out his tongue. That, and just the overall ending would probably cause some to get nauseous.
Ronsauce writes:
on November 22nd, 2008 at 6:28:49 PM

Will Smith is an awesome actor. His past movies that weren't so hot were bad despite Smith doing his best. I'd love an American(read: not super-f*cking cheesy) version of this movie...or comic...whatever.
whoever writes:
on December 2nd, 2008 at 2:37:23 AM

Kenchuman, thank you very much! I only recently got my hands on a copy of Old Boy and you have given away a pretty dramatic scene. I hope you are proud of yourself, dope.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved