WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brett Ratner Upset Over "Conan" Announcement

Posted: November 13th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brett Ratner Upset Over "Conan" AnnouncementSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that director Brett Ratner (Red Dragon, Rush Hour) was attached to the upcoming remake of "Conan," the iconic 1982 film that helped launch Arnold Schwarzenegger's career. But according to Ratner and producer Avi Lerner, the announcement was premature.

Lerner acknowledged to LA Times that even though he sent out a press release announcing Ratner's involvement with the project, the deal wasn't actually done. "We still have a few obstacles," he said. "Brett is only committed if we agree on a budget, on how to do the special effects and exactly where we'd shoot the film."

Speaking to the paper, Ratner was very unhappy that news of his "Conan" negotiations had surfaced, especially since he is extremely close to getting a green light to make "Beverly Hills Cop 4." "Let me make this very clear," he said. "I am not doing 'Conan' now. This is totally premature. For now, 'Conan' is only a development deal. I have a deal at Paramount and I'm doing 'Beverly Hills Cop' first, no matter what. Avi shouldn't be telling you or anyone else in the press what I'm doing."

Speaking of "Conan," Lerner revealed that he has a general idea of who he would like to star in the film. "We're looking for a younger Arnold Schwarzenegger, someone we could sign to a three- or four-picture deal, because I see this as a real long-term franchise," he said.

And Lerner would also like Arnold to come back for a cameo. "I saw Arnold in Las Vegas at the premiere of 'Rambo,'" he revealed. "He said, 'Wait two years for me--I'll be coming back.' But I can't wait that long." Lerner says he offered Schwarzenegger $1 million just to do a one-day cameo in the picture.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on November 12th, 2008 at 11:58:47 PM

Ratners garbage, he f*cks up movies that could be good films
jsoto127 writes:
on November 13th, 2008 at 8:54:54 AM

GOOD I HOPE HE DOESN'T DO THIS MOVIE HE SUCKS!!! LET HIM DO THAT CRAPPY 'Beverly Hills Cop' MOVIE IT SUCK THEN AND I'M SURE WITH RATNER AT THE HELM ITS GONNA SUCK NOW!
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 13th, 2008 at 8:56:59 AM

Premature pain is more like it. I say abort now! Let him screw up BHC4 since Murphy did a good job of that the last time through. Please just don't let Ratner ruin Conan, PLEASE!!! The only good news here is that it could be cancelled and Arnold could come back in any capacity. I smell Conan The King.
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 13th, 2008 at 11:11:40 AM

Ok wait...soRatner isn't doing Conan....riiiight. And how is this bad news?
MrSammich writes:
on November 13th, 2008 at 1:01:26 PM

I hope the producers are in a hurry, then they might dump this jerk-off for someone with genuine talent. I won't watch Brett Ratner's Conan because money is too tight right now to watch crap movies.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 13th, 2008 at 1:41:27 PM

People who are busy working on the projects they direct usually have no idea what rumours or media releases are flying around. Ratner hears every single one...and has a comment mere hours later. Do some work!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved