WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Batman Suing "The Dark Knight"

Posted: November 10th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Batman Suing "The Dark Knight"Submit Comment
I realize that the headline is very bizarre, but it's 100% true. A city in southeastern Turkey named Batman has decided to file a lawsuit against Christopher Nolan, the director of "Batman Begins" and "The Dark Knight."

"The royalty of the name 'Batman' belongs to us... There is only one Batman in the world. The American producers used the name of our city without informing us," said the Democratic Society Party mayor Huseyin Kalkan.

Batman is a centuries old city, taking root in the Neolithic age but becoming significant when oil was found in the region at the end of 1940s. Almost a decade before that, Batman was created as a comic hero.

Mayor Kalkan said last year that foreign media picked up on Batman's increasing suicide rates among women and unsolved murder rates. He said a columnist asked why Batman's mayor did not sue the movie Batman for royalties while struggling with economic problems. "We found this criticism right and started to look for legal possibilities of a case like that," he said.

Meanwhile, local newspaper alleged yesterday that Batman residents living abroad cannot use Batman as a title for their business, leading the municipality to think about the royalty rights of that name. However, mayor Kalkan rejected any allegations about the issue and said they do not have any information that Batman residents living abroad have problems about using Batman as a name.

But a former Batman resident, currently living in the Germany city of Wesel, is one of those citizens who cannot use Batman as a title for his business. "I named my two restaurants Batman," said the citizen. "But six months ago, a team of employees from the production company of the movie Batman made me change the title. Telling them that Batman was the name of my hometown did not change anything."

Meanwhile, the name of a local region cannot be registered as a brand name, said lawyer Vehbi Kahveci, head of the Intellectual and Industrial Property Rights Commission of the Istanbul Bar.

Source: hurriyet


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OheRRo29 writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 12:35:16 PM

this might be the dumbest thing ive ever read...so in TURKEY there is a city named BATMAN...WOW
mill7921 writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 12:58:14 PM

those people are so extraordinarily bored its insane
Sinestro writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 1:22:04 PM

I'm with Oherro. Truly, the dumbest f*cking thing I've read in a while.
paulina_0228 writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 1:26:42 PM

Wow!
meanmonkey22 writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 2:32:02 PM

Dumbasses. They're just embarassing themselves. Why wasn't there a lawsuit when Burton was making his sh*tty movies?! Why'd they wait until an actually good Batman movie came along. One that made a lot of money! Attention whores...
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 2:34:04 PM

Pack up your s**t and move....or realize that "the democratic world" does not mean 'sue anything and everything'. Friggin foreigners and their zany antics.
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 2:54:30 PM

Retarded lawsuits at their finest. LOL!!!!!
N8R writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 3:24:41 PM

That's it... I'm going to succed my property from the union and call it Brett Ratner... kill 2 birds with one stone.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 3:41:07 PM

"The royalty of the name 'Batman' belongs to us... There is only one Batman in the world. The American producers used the name of our city without informing us..."------- Finally- I now know the precise location in the world that relates the term: "living under a rock".
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 4:52:02 PM

Oh hecks no........ dumbest thing ever.....
swoooop writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 5:48:05 PM

Hehe, Batman Town. I wonder what it means in Turkish. But why not, I guess our Turkish superhero friends have learned from the best when it comes to suing the as of everybody. The Americans.
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 5:55:35 PM

get the f*ck outta here
pjw writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 6:17:35 PM

oh i know where a sh*t hole town with no money cause the oil ran out.... i know i'll sue the americans that'll help my cause! and if they were successfull imsure the mayor would evenly distribute this cash around all of his pockets not just his back one!
teuperman writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 7:31:36 PM

I think is a bunch of crap!!!! Why couldn't they have done something sooner why know? Especially since Batman as been around for half a century!!! DUMB ASSES!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 7:41:20 PM

WTF!!! ROFL
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 9:27:51 PM

This is by far the dumbest case in legal history. Batman is a comic figure based on a guy who was scared of bats. This 2 day old city don't stand a chance to win.
Schwasted writes:
on November 11th, 2008 at 3:35:42 PM

So... where do you live? I live in Batman.
usoldmydeadbrdtoablindkid writes:
on November 11th, 2008 at 8:14:59 PM

thats just terrible... why dont they just go ahead and sue DC for having thousands of comics titled batman. And why didnt these isiots have a problem with tim burtons batman way back in the day. Id love to live in a place called batman... thats just badass
seveltoto writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 1:27:02 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved