WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Beyonce Pushing to Star in "Wonder Woman"

Posted: November 8th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Beyonce Pushing to Star in "Wonder Woman"Submit Comment
Beyonce told LA Times that she would love to play Wonder Woman in the upcoming comic book film. "I want to do a superhero movie and what would be better than Wonder Woman? It would be great," she said. "And it would be a very bold choice. A black Wonder Woman would be a powerful thing. It's time for that, right?"

Beyonce says that she has met with representatives of DC Comics and Warner Bros to express her interest in a major role in one of the many comic-book adaptations now in the pipeline following the massive success of "The Dark Knight," "Iron Man" and the "Spider-Man" and "X-Men" franchises.

"After doing these roles that were so emotional I was thinking to myself, 'OK, I need to be a superhero,'" said Beyonce. "Although, when you think about the psychology of the heroes in the films these days, they are still a lot of work, of course, and emotional. But there's also an action element that I would enjoy."

It's not clear if anyone will be able to deliver a Wonder Woman project anytime soon. However, the heroine, who debuted in 1941, is by far the most iconic superhero who has yet to reach theaters.

If not Wonder Woman, what other character, either Marvel or DC, could Beyonce want to portray? With a laugh, she said: "I'm open to suggestions!"

Do you think Beyonce would make a good Wonder Woman?

Click here to read more about "Wonder Woman."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:06:37 AM

Wonder Woman goin be weak anyways.. Jessica Beil would be good as Wonder Woman if she didnt turn it down
N8R writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:16:49 AM

All I can come up with at the moment is Cheetara (Thundercats).
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:18:02 AM

Please god no.
N8R writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:18:07 AM

There was a recent hoax about Megan Fox playing Wonder Woman... that might not be a bad pick.
OLK writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:35:33 AM

f*ck THIS sh*t!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 6:26:05 AM

Why?, get Jessica Beil to play her. It if race is no boundry now...MAYBE we should get Matthew Machonhey to play the f*ckin Black Panther!! or Vinnie Jones to play Blade
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 6:37:20 AM

Beyonce would make a better captain america than wonder woman. We need actors to be as close to the comic roles as possible and we DEFINITELY don't want a black wonder woman. Storm's job is up for grabs, try that first!
MrSammich writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 9:04:13 AM

Nope, not Wonder Woman. We all know what happened to Catwoman. But if she really wants to do a hero for DC Thunder and Starfire are open, but they are nobodies.
paulina_0228 writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 11:40:37 AM

Beyonce should just go away, she is so annoying and wants to be everywhere... I am soooo tired of her. Stay away from Wonder Woman stupid woman.
solidkryptonite writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 12:04:56 PM

I gotta agree with most of the people on here. It's one thing to have Michael Clarke Duncan play The Kingpin, but when it comes to iconic characters like Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, etc...you need to stay as close to the comic books as possible. I don't hate Beyonce, but she is NOT Wonder Woman.
Blank x2 writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 2:13:30 PM

Race can be a touchy issue, and I am all for equality, but some things just cannot be changed. I love Will Smith, but I would've hated it had the rumor been true and he had been cast as Capt. America.
Vokalydstrbed writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 3:14:27 PM

Wouldn't watch it.
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 5:35:50 PM

I guess when she says: It's time for that, right? she means because our new president is black that other things can change. For one I'm black and it never stated anywhere that a president could not be black so that change is welcome but don't mess with things that are supposed to be like a white Wonder Woman ,black Blade. I know I don't want to see an asian Captain America because that's not what's in the comic. Tom cruse The Last Samurai hell no he's white! Now Goku is a white dude? and so is Picclo? and I don't mean the actor! lol. She's just trying to get some of that comic bread that's going around. N8R Cheetara (Thundercats) is a good one for her! she has the look and body! and Cheetara isn't human! lol so she can be black or white.
ddh1969 writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 5:51:12 PM

Be-gone-ce...stick to singing...for some reason people actually like that...
gatesoftanhauser writes:
on November 8th, 2008 at 5:55:32 PM

Because she needs even MORE awards and affirmation from the public about how supposedly "great" she is, right? PASS
The Movie Monkey writes:
on November 9th, 2008 at 1:25:25 AM

HELL NO! Beyonce (whatever kinda name that is anyway) should never be in a superhero movie. Who does she think she is trying to change the ethnicity of the character? She would be a stupid f***ing choice. i would never watch it if she was in it at all!! I created an account with this site just to comment on how retarted it would be for her to take that role!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 9th, 2008 at 1:28:57 AM

I'am all up for racial equality, but seriously there is no need for a black or asian Wonder Woman. Like a said before its like Getting a white guy to play the Black Panther. She can sing, but her acting talent aint that great. She shoudl stick to singing
jsoto127 writes:
on November 9th, 2008 at 11:11:25 AM

BAD IDEA!!!!! SHE IS A SINGER NOT AN ACTRESSES YEA CHEETEARA IS BETTER FOR HER
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 9th, 2008 at 11:44:27 AM

Between Ratner still being allowed to direct, this just further proves to me that being agnostic isn't even good enough cause there cnt be a God. Here goes one more prayer in the wind, please God or Santa, save us. Ok, Please someone, anyone, save us from Ratner, Hilton AND Knowles, they are among that subspecies that hint at the end being near, unless we act now!!!!!
Black_Jack writes:
on November 9th, 2008 at 6:00:20 PM

I agree with everything said here. Except that Waffleman made the comment, "Tom Cruise in 'The Last Samurai"? Hell, no! He's white." Well. If you'd watch the movie you'd know that Cruise's character, whose name escapes me right now, is an American Civil War veteran, sent to Japan to train the Imperial Army in the modern arts of war. Then he comes into conflict with the stoic samurai, yadda yadda yadda, so on and so forth. Great flick, you should see it. Just wanted to clear that up.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 8:25:58 AM

No. Sorry. I'm all for equality- but this had got to stop at some point. You can't just swap the race of a pivotal and ICONIC character so little miss R&B can have a multimillion dollar franchise. Almost as dumb as the Will Smith as Thor idea. It won't work- It won't be appreciated. It has nothing to do with race it has to do with erasing the decades of iconic artwork so Beyonce can say she's Wonder Woman on MTV.
makingcircles writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 11:15:05 AM

I don't think it's bad that Beyonce wants to be Wonder Woman. Hey, ambitions are great. I just think somebody white that wanted to be a black super hero would get extradited for saying they wanted to be a black superhero character (i.e. Black Panther, Blade, etc) So what about sub-characters people? Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury? I mean, just because they did it in the comic first makes it okay? I'm sure there has got to be some die-hard Nick Fury fans that were even jilted by that decision. Point is, maybe it's okay to flip-flop race on secondary characters but not on the big namers. BTW - Michael Clark Duncan as Kingpin pissed me off. Great actor, but I love Kingpin as a huge white guy. Call me crazy.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 10th, 2008 at 3:48:29 PM

We were all pretty pissed off about those ethnicity changes as well...secondary or A list- characters have their fans. Wonder Woman is not black and should not be black...they had Catwoman and blew it all for Halle Berry- find something else that isn't so damn iconic. Hell make a new superhero...big explosions and a cool costume is all you need. Look at Hanc*ck- it didnt even need a plot or a satisfactory ending- and that banked! Create one for her- don't change history just because your new president has a darker skin pigment.
seveltoto writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 2:33:24 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved