WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brandon Routh Comments on a Darker "Superman Returns" Sequel

Posted: October 31st, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brandon Routh Comments on a Darker "Superman Returns" SequelSubmit Comment
Happy with the results of "The Dark Knight," Warner Bros has been wondering if the upcoming "Superman Returns" sequels needs to also be dark to be successful. Fans are split on the idea, with some wanting to see a more serious film, while others don't think that Superman can ever be dark.

IESB had the chance with Superman himself, Brandon Routh, and asked him whether he believes the next sequel should be dark. Here is what Routh had to say:

"I don't know, I don't think the character necessarily has to be darker, I think he is kind of dark in a sense, emotional dark, in 'Superman Returns,' and the movie as a whole was slightly dark, they could have had more prowess in it I suppose, and I think that's one thing that can be done in the sequel, so I don't know how much darker you want to make it necessarily. You make the stakes higher, you make the villain darker, I think that's a way to do it. But I don't think Superman himself needs to be darker. He definitely has to struggle, how does Superman be a part of the world? And does he have to make sacrifices to be a part of that world? To fit in and what purpose does he really play in the world? Those are all kind of dark places to explore. But, I don't think Superman should ever be dark and brooding, that's not his nature. And that's not what people what to see."

As far as what villain Routh would like to see Superman take on, the actor had no hesitation when he stated that Brainiac would be perfect. "I think it would certainly be interesting, I think there are a lot of things you could do with Brainiac," he said. "He's been given a lot of power and a lot of different abilities over the years in the comics, as far as I understand. I know that DC is working on a Brainiac storyline that they are excited about and I think combining the two and have that flow between the comics and the movie would be a nice thing. I honestly think there are a lot of interesting things you can do with Brainiac. Controlling people, controlling technology, a lot of cool things."

Routh added that during a meeting with DC Comics' Paul Levitz, he found out that everyone working on the "Superman Returns" sequel still wants him in the lead role. And he is still interested in being apart of the franchise. Unfortunately, Warner Bros has a contract with Routh, which locks the actor in for only a certain period of time and once that time expires, Routh is free to do whatever he wants. But he probably would still want to make the sequel.

Click here to read more about "Superman: The Man of Steel."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on October 30th, 2008 at 11:34:05 PM

Braniac aint bad but i wana see DOOMSDAY
pjw writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 1:09:40 AM

yeah doomsday all the way, and id like to see routh return i thought he was the best superman so far...i really liked the film alot to be honest
MrSammich writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 1:09:43 AM

I say Superman Returns was not dark enough. For a great reminder of how dark Superman can be look at the first Superman movie. That scene where Lois Lane died and Superman held the love of his life dead in his arms and then roared/howled in a blast of emotion before attempting the impossible to save his beloved's life by forcibily turning back the hands of time. That was awesome, it was dark, and it was something that was true to the character. So while the last movie was not dark enough, that doesn't mean they have to go into an entirely new direction with the character. Just get a director that wants to make a real Superman movie, not an omage to Richard Donner or anything like that.
MrSammich writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 1:16:28 AM

Kill off Super-son and I might watch the sequil.
Stuash writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 1:37:37 AM

I say let Batman be Batman, and Superman be Superman.
N8R writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 3:17:35 AM

I don't think Superman needs to be darker... I think Lex Luthor needs to be darker. He should always be in the mix and not afraid to spill some blood. I'm down with a Braniac story and then the Doomsday story. You need to set Doomsday up a little bit more I think. Get people used to the unstoppable force known as Superman, and then stop him. Possibly bring Superman back from the dead in the third (fourth) movie to lead into the Justice League after a glimpse of the possibility at Superman's funeral. That would kick ass.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 4:51:07 AM

I honestly belived that making superman as dark as Batman Begins and the Dark Knight wont work. Superman is basically pure good, were as Batman had his inner Demons to face. But i say yes to Doomsday that would be swell.....then kill off sueprman
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 8:20:31 AM

Here here- the worst thing about Superman Returns is it alienates anyone who hasn't recently sat through the entire 80's Superman series...Routh was a good unknown (we never get those anymore in roles this size). Superman does need to go in a different direction but Returns did get the personality right...we just really needed a darker, stronger villain and more imagination with those conflicts. Keep Luthor but for God's sake make a decision on the character: comic relief or dark evil villain...he aint exactly the Joker.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 10:23:00 AM

Routh sounds more and more intelligent with each interview about this. I guess it sucks he has no power over the choices made. For me, Brainiac & the return of Zod please!
makingcircles writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 10:52:51 AM

Brainiac is great...I think the technology vs. humanity would fit as a great plot in today's world. Here's how I think it should go down. I think like Mark Millar said it should be a 3 part epic starting at Krypton. Krypton would introduce characters like Zod and Brainiac to foreshadow things to come. The end of the first movie could be the apparent defeat of Brainiac. Number 2 could deal with a little bit with Lex and maybe he could build an army of robots to fight supes. By the end of the second we find Brainiac in some other vessel somehow unleashing Doomsday to Earth to destroy superman (roll credits). The last film would be an all out brawl with Doomsday which would bring what appears to be the death of superman. We then find that Zod has been waiting the whole time for this to happen and claims earth and it's people as his own. The world falls into chaos until...Superman is not dead (somehow) and comes back to kick Zod's butt and defeat Brainiac once and for all. Sound good? Oh...and as I've said in previous posts, no Kate Bosworth, or Bryan Singer.....Brandon, you can stay.
manichispanic writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 11:58:32 AM

who cares where he thinks the story should go? he's not gonna have any say in it. count how many times he says the word "dark"
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on October 31st, 2008 at 1:11:30 PM

Braniac is the right choice people are not thinking when they say Doomsday that's like putting venom in spiderman before his time it's too soon. Doomsday should be the last villain we see....and yah kill the super son that was stupid putting him in there.
kitkat writes:
on November 3rd, 2008 at 7:36:23 PM

Brainiac would be better for a "Batman & Superman" movie, as Brainiac has strength and intelligence. Darkseid would be a good villian for a darker story, through in a few merciless henchmen for supes to take on first before a big show down at the end. Maybe through in a subplot of Lex Luthor trying to get some "super DNA" by kidnapping supes son to give some emotional edge to the story.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 5th, 2008 at 10:58:44 AM

The kid needs to disappear- unapologetically. Why they allowed Synger to create a character of this magnitude I have NO IDEA. It was foolish and felt rushed and more so just simply OUT OF PLACE. Just whacky, odd, and totally foolish. Now some other poor director has a large, gaping wound to repair before the Superman franchise bleeds to death.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved