WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Talks "The Dark Knight" Sequel

Posted: October 27th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Talks "The Dark Knight" SequelSubmit Comment
After spending a month in Florida, director Christopher Nolan sat down with LA Times to discuss the success of "The Dark Knight" and his plans for a third Batman movie. Here is what Nolan had to say:

"Well ... let me think how to put this. There are two things to be said. One is the emphasis on story. What's the story? Is there a story thatís going to keep me emotionally invested for the couple of years that it will take to make another one? That's the overriding question. On a more superficial level, I have to ask the question: How many good third movies in a franchise can people name? [Laughs.] At the same time, in taking on the second one, we had the challenge of trying to make a great second movie, and there haven't been too many of those either. Itís all about the story really. If the story is there, everything is possible. I hope that was a suitably slippery answer."

"The Dark Knight" ended with the Joker's fate unresolved. So does that mean that Nolan will try to bring the Joker back for a second round? Nolan explains:

"No, really and in truth, I only deal with one film at a time. I find myself sort of protesting this issue a lot. We've never attempted to save anything for a sequel or set up anything for a sequel. That seems improbable to some people because, particularly with "Batman Begins," the film ended with a particular hook [with Jim Gordon showing Batman a Joker playing card announcing the arrival of a new villain in town]. But for me that was just about the excitement of people leaving the theater with the sense that now we have the character up and running. I wanted people to walk away with that sense in their head. You know, that heís become the Batman in the movie. That's why we had the title come up at the end, because it was "Batman Begins," and it was all very specific to that."

If Nolan decides to leave the franchise, who should Warner Bros get to replace him?

Click here to read our "The Dark Knight" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Milwaukee Marvel writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 7:28:21 PM

Why wouldnt he wana come back. Who wouldnt wana be apart of this movie
tedwardKGB writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 7:33:55 PM

some filmmakers are actually smart and know when to quit.
killpetty writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 8:00:05 PM

I think that he just doesn't want to fail. Go out with a bang and give it up while you're still on top. Let's just hope that he doesn't pull a James Cameron and not release another movie for like a decade.
Metafact writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 8:27:23 PM

I would love it if he came back for one more, but I understand if he doesn't.
CornLord writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 8:42:23 PM

I would love to see him back, but if the movie isn't good enough for him to come back, I don't want to see it. Although, if the story is good, but he didn't want to do it, I would still check it out if the rest of the cast came back.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 27th, 2008 at 10:29:31 PM

ah man, i hope he makes another.. he just needs to spend a lot of time preparing the film, jsut don't rush it. It will be ahrd to make a film that follows TDK, it was such a hit, that it will be nearly impossible to out do it. But if anyoe can, Nolan can. If i have to wait 5 years for 2nd sequal to BB, then i wait 5 years
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 28th, 2008 at 9:44:40 AM

Guys- it's pure and simple with Nolan...The guy is an artist and always has been...but he's pure in that role. What kind of artist wants to keep painting the same damn thing over and over again? I see a new Nolan movie released long before he directs another Batman sequel...he has no fear of failure. Pffft He's damn far from it. He has the fear of boredom. I have a hard time believing that a man who's directed films as different and unique as Following and Memento would limit his imagination for the sake of a few more dollars after he virtually set himself for life with the Dark Knight... ...and Cameron will be known more for creating new film technology and gear than for his films. He's an inventor- and Hollywood is lame to him after conquering it...the only reason why he even has a new film is because he's invented and developed new exciting technology for it that he also wants to play with.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 29th, 2008 at 3:44:25 AM

True, but i odn't want the franchise to become what Joel Schumacher did to Burtons batman, or what Brett Ratner did to X-Men 3......i swear to god if Brett Ratner, Joel Schumacher or god forbid Uew Boll attempt to ask them to direct the third Batman.........blood will rain from the skies!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved