WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Studio Discusses "Daredevil" Reboot

Posted: October 4th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Studio Discusses "Daredevil" RebootSubmit Comment
IESB had the chance to speak to 20th Century Fox co-chairman Tom Rothman, who revealed that the studio is considering rebooting the "Daredevil" franchise after the 2003 Ben Affleck movie was panned by critics.

"A Daredevil reboot is something we are thinking very seriously about," said Rothman. "We've got all the rights. And yes, I think that the thing the Hulk showed although, it did what it did, is that it is possible, that if you really do it right the audience will give you a second chance. That it is possible. And I think that you see that when they did Batman Begins, the first [Christopher] Nolan movie, that you can have made some mistakes along the way or movies that the audience wasn't that crazy about and then given the proper amount of time and the right creative vision behind it, you can reboot."

He continued: "I am actually encouraged by both the Hulk experience and particularly by what they did with Batman, after the relative disappointment of what the last Batman was [1990's incarnations]."

Would the new "Daredevil" movie be as dark as "The Dark Knight"? "I don't know because what it really needs is, it needs a visionary at the level that Chris Nolan was," said Rothman. "It needs someone, it needs a director, honestly, who has a genuine vision. What we wouldn't do is just do it for the sake of doing it. Right? What we try to do is to get a creative engine for it, that really had a great vision for it, that's what we would look for."

Who do you think would make a good Daredevil?

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
N8R writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 1:18:00 AM

KEVIN SMITH!!!! Affleck was ok actually and Kevin Smith has a long tradition with Daredevil. I'd love to see his DD film.
meanmonkey22 writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 1:36:30 AM

I agree with Kevin Smith directing. I think thats a brilliant choice.
Dannoral writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 4:50:02 AM

him or Miller maybe.. but the first daredevil (director's cut version !!) is not so bad... but already too old in the FX
prowler writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 6:59:12 AM

I think DareDevil is darkest character of all. Even more than Batman. In dark heros DD is coolest one, and deserve to be make more dark. So my oppinion for director is Danny Boyle.
Kara writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 8:02:57 AM

how dare they even consider making a new daredevil (that's not a sequal). I really liked Daredevil - Ben Affleck was great. Critics are the worst...
Sinestro writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 10:04:16 AM

This is getting a bit ridiculous. Some of these characters, as the Hulk has shown, simply aren't meant for big Box Office success. Give it a rest!
huckabeast writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 10:31:46 AM

Guy Pierce for Daredevil. Kevin Smith loves the character, but his style doesn't really lend itself. Let Smith write the script, and hand it off to someone with a killer visual eye. Personally, I wouldn't mind putting Ben Affleck on the other side of the camera: his directorial debut was great, and he knows how to capture an ugly city on film.
i3u7n5 writes:
on October 4th, 2008 at 8:50:26 PM

I think Kevin Smith is great at what he does which is the diametric opposite of what a Daredevil reboot would need in terms of a director; I think even he would agree with that. For some reason, Darren Aronofsky pops into my head as a good director to helm a reboot. Visially at least- I'm not so sure his artistic side would mesh well with a big studio picture like DD. As far as who to play DD himself, I like the Frank Miller recommendation of Jason Statham. He's physical, intense and DD is going to need to get back to that aspect in order to be a success. Matt Murdock isn't a suave lawyer, he's tortured, conflicted and grew up in the tough neighborhood of Hell's Kitchen, something Miller drew heavily upon and has been forgotten as of late. Statham would bring that roughneck dimension to the character.
MrSammich writes:
on October 5th, 2008 at 3:47:13 PM

David Fincher, great director, awesome sense of humor, visual style, and capable building teneion to an almost claustrophobic level. Yes, David Fincher would make an awesome Daredevil.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 6th, 2008 at 11:25:10 AM

Everytime Rothman gets an amazing director he screws him. and why does a third tier hero like DareDevil NEED an autuer...and Kevin Smith is too busy being a p*ssy about special effects to do a superhero movie. He's seriously pissing me off. there isnt a better director for a comic book movie- especially THIS character- than a comic book writer who owns a comic book shop...Stop being a wuss Smith- Favreau didnt have a clue as to what to do with special effects...he had faith in his crew and they followed his orders...it's not like you'll be doing the CGI yourself so again- enough excuses. Make a superhero film ya faggerer...
oscarking writes:
on October 6th, 2008 at 1:46:46 PM

"Visionary" or "unconventional" directing choices don't always pan out...Favreau's "Iron Man" was critically successful and fanboy approved -Ang Lee's "Hulk" was neither. Bryan Singer set the tone with X-Men 1&2, and Sam Raimi upped the ante with Spidermans. It would seem that Oscar-caliber or RSC veterans as leading talent never hurts - Downey, Jr., Ed Norton, Stewart, McKlellan, etc. Want a good DD reboot? Roll the dice on a Big Name director. I say Spike Lee. Throw Matt Damon or Guy Pierce in the lead.
Hungry Tacco writes:
on October 7th, 2008 at 4:37:40 PM

Director: Peter Berg (Hanc*ck) or Zack Snyder (300) Daredevil: Jason Statham (Death Race, Transporter) Elektra: Erica Durance (Lois Lane [Smallville]) Bullseye: Mark Walberg (Max Payne, The Departed) King Pin: Michael Chiklis (Eagle Eye, The Shield) Writer: Miles Millar & Alfred Gough (Smallville)
Kal-El writes:
on October 9th, 2008 at 4:24:04 PM

Guy Pearce as Matt Murdock. Kevin Smith can't direct traffic. If Frank Miller pulls off the Spirit, he should get a chance to execute the Daredevil stories he was doing in the 70s.
seveltoto writes:
on November 15th, 2017 at 7:07:57 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved