WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

M. Night Shyamalan Considering "Unbreakable 2"

Posted: September 19th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
M. Night Shyamalan Considering "Unbreakable 2"Submit Comment
M Night Shyamalan's last two films have not done much to help him strengthen his reputation as a bankable director. Films like "Lady in the Water" and "The Happening" have been ripped up by the fans and critics, so why not go back to what worked in the past?

"I tell you I get asked about it all the time, so it's not [an idea] I ever forget," Shyamalan told MTV News. "I genuinely just asked this question the other day should I make 'Unbreakable 2'?"

If Shyamalan does indeed decide to revisit "Unbreakable," he'll have at least one of the original film's stars ready and willing to join up Samuel L. Jackson, who played the very-breakable villain, Elijah Price, in the movie. "Every time I see [Shyamalan], he says, 'I've written this thing for you,' so I say, 'why are you always doing these movies I'm not in?'" said Jackson.

According to both Shyamalan and Jackson, "Unbreakable" was originally intended to be a trilogy, but a series of bad reviews as well as fan and film critic misconception of Shyamalan's work quickly tabled the idea of a possible franchise. As Jackson put it, "He was a victim of what Quentin [Tarrantino] was a victim of. 'Jackie Brown' is a great movie, but it's not 'Pulp Fiction 2.' 'Unbreakable' is a great movie, but it's not 'I see f**king dead people.'"

Likewise, Shyamalan has his own take on the lack of a sequel. "I made the mistake of getting caught up in the hype of the immediate reaction of the movie, which, experience has shown me, is not accurate to any of my movies," he explained. "And If I had been more confident and said 'I believe in that movie, I love that movie, and I should just go start writing the second one,' that would've been the right move. I've still been thinking about it a lot and wonder if it's too late."

Shyamalan even sat down with Jackson during the film's production to discuss where his character could and would go had the film spawned a sequel. "Back then we talked about what the rest would entail," recalled Jackson. "I broke out of the mental institution. I'm out there doing stuff and ["Unbreakable" co-star Bruce Willis' "David Dunn" is] after me. It's very cool. He still wears that rain thing, that windbreaker."

So will Shyamalan give us "Unbreakable 2"? "I do love the [comic book movie] genre, I just wanna make sure that I'm able to express who I am," he explained. "I don't want to get so lost in the subject that I have to neuter everything that's me in it, so maybe 'Unbreakable' is the comic book thing I should do I keep coming back to that."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 3 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DeathMaster writes:
on September 19th, 2008 at 11:52:29 AM

Unbreakable is my favorite movie of all time, yet this news doesn't really lighten me up. I mean, that story was closed, done. What you might get as result is the next thirteen in a dozen wannabe superhero movie. Shyamalan should stick to psychological thrillers, not half-baked horror like the previous movies.
Kal-El writes:
on September 20th, 2008 at 1:25:33 PM

Unbreakable was his last good movie, probably the last time he took notes from anyone other than himself. A Bruce Willis/Sam Jackson superhero sequel would be too subtle to clash against the Marvels and DCs in the summertime, but I might actually plop down ten bucks to see it, to see if M. Knight can tell a story without the entire outcome resting on a ridiculous twist in the third act.
minkowski writes:
on September 21st, 2008 at 1:19:43 AM

Unbreakable is his best film simply because it has replay value. Too much of the Sixth Sense's worth was wrapped up in the plot twist. Having said, I wonder if Shyamalan ruined any chance filmgoers will return to see any film he makes. He's really ruined his good name, starting with his film Signs.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved