WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Caine Reveals "The Dark Knight" Sequel Casting

Posted: September 9th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Caine Reveals "The Dark Knight" Sequel CastingSubmit Comment
It's either fans are able to guess who will be cast in upcoming movies, or studios listen to the fans. Not too long ago, it was Johnny Depp who was selected as the man we most want to play The Riddler and Philip Seymour Hoffman to play The Penguin in the upcoming "The Dark Knight" sequel. The problem is that we don't know if a third film will be made and whether those characters will be used.

MTV News had the chance to sit down with Michael Cain, who plays Bruce Wayne's butler Alfred in the franchise, to discuss the potential third film. It was then that Cain confirmed that both Depp and Hoffman are currently in talks with Warner Brother for the exact roles that fans suggested.

"They've already got them in mind," said Caine. "It's Johnny Depp as The Riddler. And The Penguin is Philip Seymour Hoffman. I read it in the paper."

Read it in the paper? So does that mean that Caine is simply reading us back the rumors that we publish? Not quite. He has confirmed the news with the studio.

"When Christopher [Nolan] said we were going to do 'The Dark Knight' next, I didn't know what that meant in Batman terms," said Caine. "I said, 'What's the story?' and he said The Joker. I said, 'Oh, sh*t! How are you going to top Jack [Nicholson]?' He said, 'Well, I've cast Heath Ledger. And I went 'Ha! I couldn't top Jack, but if anyone could, maybe Heath could.' And he did."

Caine continued: "I was with [a Warner Bros] executive and I said, 'Are we going to make another one?' They said yeah. I said, 'How the hell are we going to top Heath? And he says 'I'll tell you how you top Heath Johnny Depp as The Riddler and Philip Seymour Hoffman as The Penguin.' I said, 'Sh*t, they've done it again!'"

In an earlier interview, Depp said that he would love to take a role in "The Dark Knight" sequel. So, it seems that all the pieces are falling into place.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 6 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Metafact writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 2:54:03 AM

This is total bullsh*t. When I get the word from Chris Nolan himself about the casting, that's when I'll believe it. Come on, people, does anyone actually believe that he is not going to have final say on who gets to play the villains, or even more importantly, WHO THE VILLAINS ARE?!? For chrissakes, a script hasn't even been written yet! What if Nolan wants another antagonist instead? What, is the studio really going to tell the guy who directed and co-wrote the most successful superhero film ever, "No, we overrule you."? Give me break! The truth is, we won't know for sure who the next Batman villain is for a very long time, and as for those who are somehow "certain" that Johnny Depp will be the next Riddler, remember how "certain" you all were that he was going to play the Joker? And is Philip Seymour Hoffman actually going to appear as the Penguin in the third Batman film? Because I seem to remember from many a fan that he was set to appear in a small role in The Dark Knight. Look, the sequel to TDK is at least three years off, and we're already oversaturating ourselves with hype over totally unsubstantiated rumors. Let's just calm down for at least a year, shall we?
Dannoral writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 4:10:46 AM

it's not so important who will be the villains... the question is : when will it be release ? and what about the Joker ??
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 7:58:49 AM

There needs to be a recasting of the Joker...pity for Heath, but you can't just pretend the most intense and constant comic book rivalry doesn't exist because Heath Ledger died-not to mention it would be totally abandoning the story arc left open during the Dark Knight...which would make for a directionless, crappy, cash in sequel.
whitenight writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 10:29:27 PM

Daniel Day Lewis as the joker
dAnKoNe23 writes:
on September 10th, 2008 at 2:29:11 AM

Top Heath??????? I thought my jokes were bad...
James.Speed writes:
on September 10th, 2008 at 2:44:38 AM

Michael Caine is just reminding us of what Warner Brothers already told us. Nolan and Goyer both said they would rather introduce new villains, and that Penguin wouldnt be one of them.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved