WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Offered "Captain America" Lead

Posted: September 8th, 2008 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Offered "Captain America" LeadSubmit Comment
Not to long ago, Marvel has promised us an "Avengers" movie, but the studio would first introduce each character in their own separate feature films. That's when the announcement of "The First Avenger: Captain America" was made and fans immediately began to guess at who could take on such a famous superhero. Last we heard that Mike O'Hearn from "American Gladiators" was going to attend a casting session for the project.

While promoting "Miracle at St. Anna," Derek Luke revealed to MTV News that Will Smith was offered the part as well. "I heard they offered Will Smith 'Captain America,'" he said, adding: "[it] just shows you how times have changed."

A change of race is not a surprising thing anymore in the world of Marvel. Samuel L. Jackson has recently appeared as Nick Fury in "Iron Man" and Michael Clarke Duncan ended up playing Kingpin in "Daredevil." And Will Smith has already portrayed a superhero in "Hancock," so it's nothing new to him.

In my opinion, someone as recognizable as Captain America should remain Caucasian, unless we want a Korean Spider-Man and an Indian Hulk in the future. There is nothing wrong with that, but fans have an idea of what these characters should look like.

What do you guys think, would you accept Will Smith as Captain America?

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
tmfaust writes:
on September 8th, 2008 at 9:26:30 PM

As much as I love will smith, and I do, the nick fury argument doesn't fly. Fury's black in the ultimate world, and the two were created simultaneously to sort of reflect eachother, so its no surprise marvel chose ultimate nick fury over the original. As for the Black kingpin... that movie was down right terrible. A travesty, etc. The butchered basically every character the could get their hands on. So I do not think will smith would be a good idea for captain america. If there were space for the Black Captain america previous to the one we know now, then by all means. I just prefer that these movies stay closer to the source material, to insure an honest telling of the original creators' vision.
Sinestro writes:
on September 8th, 2008 at 9:34:13 PM

I hate Will Smith. He's the most overrated actor in the business and anything he does eventually dissolves into a nonsensical light show. He's no Captain America, he's Will Smith, he plays himself. And this isn't about race as much as it is about being loyal to the source. Captain American is white and blond, that's who he is, that's the character we love. I'm not white nor American, but I love Captain America the way he is. There are too many talented actors who look the part out there, there's no need to for this departure. Unless, of course, Marvel just wants to make that cheddar on the FOURTH OF JULY.
mill7921 writes:
on September 8th, 2008 at 10:09:25 PM

I am pretty sure Marvel is making this a period piece to start out with anyways aren't they? Would it make sense for an African American Hero to be celebrated in that time? I am not a racist person. I am just trying to make sense of it. I personally think Will Smith is a pretty talented actor and would do a decent job... Historically though, it doesn't make much sense considering our past.
CorbynJ writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 12:26:13 AM

Aaron Eckhart as Captain America!!!
James.Speed writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 2:24:51 AM

As much as I love Will Smith, I wouldn't make him Captain America. Michael Clarke Duncan was an acception. I would rather see an actor like Matt Damon in the role. Although he played superhero before, Michael Keaton could be really good. Or if they wanted someone younger, Brandon Routh. Now that Cyclops is dead, James Marsden could be cool. However, I agree with CobrynJ, mthat Aaron Eckhart could be great.
PrevalentMind writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 7:53:32 AM

Yeah WOW Look how far we've come Derek Luke- now we're just going to pretend a superhero who was white for his entire existance is now completely unrecognizable- add to that the fact that Hanc*ck still may be a possible franchise for Smith, so let's just whore Mr Box Office Smith instead of doing some proper casting. Times haven't changed ya idiot- Smith's been huge since Independence Day...oh yeah the struggle that man endured after 96...It's a miracle!
nea writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 8:01:08 AM

I see two problems: First of all, its Will Smith! And as much as I like Bad Boys or Men in Black, those films worked for me because there was not just Will Smith. A Captain America film couldn't be a Captain America movie because it would be a Will Smith IS Captain America. That's no good! Second, and this has nothing to do with racism: In my opinion Captain America must be not just Caucasian but an overall perfect American child of its time. Otherwise he would not have been picked as subject and so on... that's an ideological question which relies on the grounds the Captain America project was founded on.
Black_Jack writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 9:05:51 AM

First, nea, Steve Rogers wan NOT a perfect American child of his time, he was a scrawny wuss. Second, you Will Smith haters need to get a life. Third, he still would not make a good Cap regardless of his acting ability or whether or not Cap has always been white, because the reason Cap should be white was that WWII-era scientists would never have chosen a black man to be the perfect soldier, or represent America. Heck, they might not have even believed he could handle it.
kevo10183 writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 9:11:14 AM

Are they going to make him white like how the made Robert Downey black in Tropic Thunder?
Johnny Neat writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 9:26:44 AM

Oh GOD! I hope not, Matthew McConaughey all the way, PLEASE. Plus the Ultimate world is what they are going for and I have no issues with that.
tucsonkid writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 10:12:41 AM

I agree with tmfaust and mill7921, as far as Captain America is concerned keep him Caucasin and blond because that is who he is and who have grown up to know why ruin it,and change who captain america is, I love Will Smith I love his acting but don't change what we accept as Captain America ,but should they choose smith , I would have to choose not to see the movie,because it would not be Captain America, that's like changing Wolverine to a Latino which would be great for us latino's but we couldn't accept that cause Wolverine isn't Latino and nobody would really believe that such a thing would be acceptable, because it would be taking away from the creator idea of who these characters are and their stories of how they came to be.
huckabeast writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 11:36:36 AM

will smith - interesting, but no. aaron eckhart - close, but no cigar. mike o'hearn - be serious. this is captain america. honestly, it'd be interesting to see ryan reynold's take on the character. although he just got deadpool, he's shown himself to be capable. the only way to make this movie, probably is to invent a time machine and put robert redford in it. he was born to play the part about thirty years too late...
i3u7n5 writes:
on September 9th, 2008 at 7:30:53 PM

The Kingpin, Nick Fury now Cap - sorry but it seems Marvel is overdoing it a bit in the "we're edgy and cool and oh so equal opportunity". Note to marvel: Black Panther could be a great movie as would a Luke cage/iron fist film. Blade could have been a MUCH better franchise had you been more careful and paid more mind to the scripting and direction. Point is, there are viable "black" roles - develop them first before messing around with 60 years of fandom and history.
swoooop writes:
on September 10th, 2008 at 10:00:37 AM

I think agree with the moderator, we have an idea of what these characters should look like, and I think the studios should respect that. Its got nothing to do with black or white, yellow or blue, we just want our Super Heroes to manifest them self one the big screen as we remember them from the comics. I mean, why change something that works? Politically correctness shouldn't overway the truthfulness of the story or character, as long as the story or characters isn't racist in any way.
MrCrumley writes:
on October 29th, 2008 at 12:17:34 AM

Rick Schroder... end of discussion.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved