WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Simon Cowell Making a "Betty Boop" Movie
Aug 15th, 2014
Trailer for "Rudderless," with Billy Crudup and Anton Yelchin
Aug 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christopher Nolan Says Goodbye to Batman Franchise

Posted: July 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christopher Nolan Says Goodbye to Batman FranchiseSubmit Comment
Director Christopher Nolan wrote the foreword to "The Art of Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy," which was released in stores on July 20th, the same day "The Dark Knight Rises" hit theaters. You can now read the foreword below, which is Nolan's goodbye letter to the franchise.

Foreword: Alfred. Gordon. Lucius. Bruce... Wayne. Names that have come to mean so much to me. Today, I'm three weeks from saying a final good-bye to these characters and their world. It's my son's ninth birthday. He was born as the Tumbler was being glued together in my garage from random parts of model kits. Much time, many changes. A shift from sets where some gunplay or a helicopter were extraordinary events to working days where crowds of extras, building demolitions, or mayhem thousands of feet in the air have become familiar.

People ask if we'd always planned a trilogy. This is like being asked whether you had planned on growing up, getting married, having kids. The answer is complicated. When David and I first started cracking open Bruce's story, we flirted with what might come after, then backed away, not wanting to look too deep into the future. I didn't want to know everything that Bruce couldn't; I wanted to live it with him. I told David and Jonah to put everything they knew into each film as we made it. The entire cast and crew put all they had into the first film. Nothing held back. Nothing saved for next time. They built an entire city. Then Christian and Michael and Gary and Morgan and Liam and Cillian started living in it. Christian bit off a big chunk of Bruce Wayne's life and made it utterly compelling. He took us into a pop icon's mind and never let us notice for an instant the fanciful nature of Bruce's methods.

I never thought we'd do a second how many good sequels are there? Why roll those dice? But once I knew where it would take Bruce, and when I started to see glimpses of the antagonist, it became essential. We re-assembled the team and went back to Gotham. It had changed in three years. Bigger. More real. More modern. And a new force of chaos was coming to the fore. The ultimate scary clown, as brought to terrifying life by Heath. We'd held nothing back, but there were things we hadn't been able to do the first time out a Batsuit with a flexible neck, shooting on Imax. And things we'd chickened out on destroying the Batmobile, burning up the villain's blood money to show a complete disregard for conventional motivation. We took the supposed security of a sequel as license to throw caution to the wind and headed for the darkest corners of Gotham.

I never thought we'd do a third are there any great second sequels? But I kept wondering about the end of Bruce's journey, and once David and I discovered it, I had to see it for myself. We had come back to what we had barely dared whisper about in those first days in my garage. We had been making a trilogy. I called everyone back together for another tour of Gotham. Four years later, it was still there. It even seemed a little cleaner, a little more polished. Wayne Manor had been rebuilt. Familiar faces were back a little older, a little wiser... but not all was as it seemed.

Gotham was rotting away at its foundations. A new evil bubbling up from beneath. Bruce had thought Batman was not needed anymore, but Bruce was wrong, just as I had been wrong. The Batman had to come back. I suppose he always will.

Michael, Morgan, Gary, Cillian, Liam, Heath, Christian... Bale. Names that have come to mean so much to me. My time in Gotham, looking after one of the greatest and most enduring figures in pop culture, has been the most challenging and rewarding experience a filmmaker could hope for. I will miss the Batman. I like to think that he'll miss me, but he's never been particularly sentimental.

Source: SHH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Slidefire writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:47:08 AM

Thank you very much for your batman mr Nolan.
holtlt writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:51:20 AM

Cheers! This guy has taken a lot of pressure like a boss.
bandolero999 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:32:06 AM

bandolero and the dog's reaction to Nolan exiting the BATMAN World.very touching indeed:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1u02mlBAzNo
SACdaddy writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 9:34:29 AM

Thx for bringing us a new and exciting vision of Batman. FU for destroying that vision in the third act. Don't let the door hit you on the way out. NEXT!!!
Fightclub1 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:14:51 PM

Thank you for the best trilogy of my time mr.nolan
Morbius writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:23:10 PM

I'd definitely not say best trilogy of *my* time; But thanks Nolan for 2 really good films... And f*ck you very much for Batman Begins.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:30:25 PM

Adios, Nolan. Can't say I'll miss you.

Now if someone would murder Grant Morrison, Batman might go back to a semblance of the normalcy it enjoyed a decade ago.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 12:58:22 PM

Best Batman story arc Mink? Go! Answer!
boogiel writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 1:13:45 PM

"I will miss the Batman. I like to think that he'll miss me, but he's never been particularly sentimental"


Don't worry Nolan. He won't miss you. Time for reboot!
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 3:50:42 PM

"Best Batman story arc Mink? Go! Answer!"

1. Long Halloween + Dark Victory + Haunted Knight.

2. Batman Year One.

3. KnightFall.

4. No Man's Land.

5. Under the Red Hood.

6. The Dark Knight Returns.

7. Hush.

8. The Killing Joke.
Dark4ever writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 4:14:23 PM

well that sucks his series was the best incarnaton of the batman
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 4:23:43 PM

Thank you for Batman Begins and The Dark Knight Rises...Can't say many positive things about The Dark Knight - that one was just too complicated and boring.
Rambo writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 4:32:58 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_V6VZVTrMY
DexterMorgan writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:07:04 PM

thank you nolan for giving us imo one of the greatest film trilogies i have every seen
Serpico1988 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:54:35 PM

You absolute Legend.

You have given us everything.
Serpico1988 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 5:55:01 PM

Thanks!
fenderdude64 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 6:13:34 PM

the best batman story ever told on film for sure.
Buckles44 writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 7:11:54 PM

Mink! You don't like Grant Morrison!?!
Not saying he's the best writer to pen a story for Batman. But not all of his stories are sh*t.
What about Batman and Robin with d*ck and Damian. That was good up until there very end when he branched off with Batman Inc. Which by far is the worst thing he's sh*tted out. Thank god for the reboot.
What about Batman and Son/ The Black Glove/ RIP? Even the Return of Bruce Wayne isn't bad if you're keeping up with the other sh*t that happening too.

Have you read Heart of Hush and the Streets of Gotham trilogy? Not Morrisions work but enjoyable none the less. Paul Dini has his moments.
Black Mirror is also a great read.
Battle for the Cowl too
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:41:17 PM

No, not all of Morrison's stuff is bad, but his death of Batman storyline was a mess imo and a hugely missed opportunity, but I get it. DC hired him to reinvent Batman so they could sell him to the rest of the world. I understand. And yes. Paul Dini is great, too. Thought I'd stop at eight though, or else list everything on Amazon.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 8:46:23 PM

Yeah, I read all those.

The Return of Bruce Wayne, and Time and The Batman. They were okay, but Grant should have changed the past to bring resurrect Wayne's parents. That would've f*cked with the story like never before.

Batman & Robin Volume 1-3, too. Batman RIP wasn't bad either, and Frank Miller's All Star Batman and Robin was pretty good. Didn't like Batman and Son though. Too incoherent.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 10:17:08 PM

I haven't seen TDKR, but until now, I have loved his movies, and I absolutely adored both Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. Thank you for being awesome!
Zeroguy writes:
on July 24th, 2012 at 11:03:18 PM

Nice picks. Almost identical to mine. Loeb's work would be lower for me though.
And superhero deaths are bullsh*t. Superman ruined it. Total cop out. And most deaths are that way. "oh no, are lead is dead...well not really but we'll sell 15 issues to see if fans are okay with the death"
The_DARK KNIGHT writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 12:40:24 AM

i really hope Nolan makes another one because batman just wont be the same if someone else does it because these were the best batman movies ever!!

he needs to just make one more because he left it open for one more and if he dident want to do another then he should of never left it open.

im just asking for one more batman from Nolan.. just one more and that can be it
Buckles44 writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 1:14:30 AM

Havent read Time and the Batman, didn't seem like an interesting read.
And I think Frank Miller's Batman and Robin put Batman in a really sadistic light. It wasn't a bad read but it showed Batman was probably just as crazy as Joker. Kind of wish he did a Vol2 to it.

Scott Snyder's work is really note worthy too. I was impressed with the Black Mirror and despite what people are saying on the Batman forums, I think Court of Owls is by far the best of the Batman reboots.
Zeroguy writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 1:24:13 AM

And I think I might be the only man(/boy) in the boat who thinks Gaslight and Year 100 are fantastic novels.
Armando Loomis writes:
on July 25th, 2012 at 6:53:18 PM

This was amazing. I almost shed a tear of how much MR.Nolan truly loves his characters and the world he redefined.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved